We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay in Karen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are spending some time in Nairobi and want to spend some time visiting the sites in Karen then Hemmingways is a great option. Karen itself is lovely and away from the rush and traffic of downtown Natriobi. This can be a boon but if you need to be in the centre then travel can be an issue.

It is a new hotel with nice grounds and really nice rooms - the best Ive seen in Nairobi and in most other parts of the world. Each room is large and well appointed with a balcony overlooking the manicured lawns.

The bathroom was large and well arranged and the general standard of housekeeping and luxury could not be faulted.

Food was good also and the breakfast had good choice and was well presnted.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the lawns - they are quite spread out and some are far from the main lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaribuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Safaribuff

Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed Hemingways Nairobi

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    53
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
63
113
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is at a wonderfully quite and beautiful area. .. The wait staff at breakfast were very good and attentive to our needs ....

I would highly suggest this beautiful place to my couple friends..

The rooms were very clean and equipped with standard appliances... although in a hotel of such standers I would expect a hair dryer....

All in all its a beautiful place that deserves 5 ☆ ... I would definitely go back

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nimpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear nimpha

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi and we look forward to a return visit.

Many thanks

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First trip to the Spa centre at this very stylish Hemmingways Hotels today. A slice of calm and relaxation out of town from busy Nairobi. Loved every minute of the treatments I had. Staff were lovely. Prices competitive. And the small touches, like fresh fruit and herbal tea, just added up to a wonderful experience. A delicious lunch with the Ngong Hills in the background where Karen Blixen and Denis Finch-Hatton rode on horseback (or Meryl Streep and Robert Redford to you and me) just rounded it off. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel! Delicious food, very friendly staff and the rooms are amazing!! TV pops up from a steamer trunk from the old days! Very cool! Restoration Hardware decor. Beautiful! The grounds/landscaping is beautiful too. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3boyz1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

So was at Hemingways for one night, two days on a corporate retreat. Arrived early morn day 1 and check in was painless, and quick. Next meal was lunch, where they served a lousy buffet. Dinner was a la care, and I ordered the steak as did many others, having heard their steaks are good. The skinny piece of meat served to me was not a steak, but rather a hard offcut from some unknown animal. Never again! Breakfast day 2 was very good, and the buffet lunch had improved given we gave feedback about day 1.

The rooms are amazing, desserts are reasonable...service is very haphazard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear KulaRaha

As you rightly mention you stayed with us on a conference package that includes a buffet lunch, the menus are themed and pre-agreed with our guests before the event. As you expressed disappointment with your menu we changed the pre-ordered menu for the next day and I am glad you approved of it the next day.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hemingways is not the normal sort of place I stay at when I'm in East Africa - but in a really good way!

From the tall airy ceilings, the sloping manicured lawns, the tasteful aesthetic, and the amazing food to the tight security and unobtrusive but attentive staff, this was the nicest place I've ever been to for a 4-day development assistance workshop!

It's about 45 minutes to an hour from the airport, and essentially outside of Nairobi in the hills above it - which at the moment seems like a reasonable sort of way to be in Nairobi, but not IN Nairobi.

The area is named Karen, after Karen Blixen, the Danish author who wrote Out of Africa, and the hotel captures the sense of colonial Kenya of which her book is so redolent. There are black and white photos on the wall of Karen and others with all manner of animals, large colour painting posters of African savannah sunsets, and the whole building structure hearkens back to an earlier time. The question of whether that era should be lauded in this manner at this uneasy time in Kenya's history is an entirely different matter - the fact is, Hemingways does it, and they do it in style.

There is also a clever blending of a sense of this time gone by with lovely high-end technology; my favourite example is a UHD TV which springs out of a large leather trunk at the push of a button!

I didn't get to try either the pool or the gym (the pool looked lovely nestled amongst trees and fountains) but two other highlights - Wednesday night is steak night and they do AMAZING steaks, all cuts and from the best provenances (only minor criticism - constructive of course! - is that you do have to emphasise very clearly how you want your steak cooked - I'm a blue kinda guy, and the kitchen needed a couple of goes to get this right); and you get your own assigned butler, who will unpack and pack and iron and and and - again very un-PC, but VERY lovely.

So, should you go there - of course you should! Should you take a moment - or many moments - to think about what is happening outside of this lovely oasis? Up to what sort of person you are I guess, but life in Kenya is not all beer and skittles, as they say, and alot of the current dramas could be attributed to the very period this wonderful place harks back to.

Room Tip: get one on the ground floor - to be honest they're all awesome, but the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiceoflives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lina and I would like to thank Johnson and all the staff helping to make Lina's stay on her birthday extra special. We were both thrilled about the numerous pleasant surprises. The mini conference with Lina's colleagues from several countries in Africa, which was the reason she spent her birthday there, was also a great success and all nine visitors were very impressed by the hotel and its offerings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjornHallberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HRS, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing