We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hemingways Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
$186
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$214
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$234
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
476
84
31
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
84
31
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsngong hillsbutler servicepersonal butlerwalk in closetbalcony overlookingbeautiful hotelkaren blixen museumluxury hotelcolonial styleelephant orphanagespent nightsgiraffe centremasai marawilson airporteast africagiraffe manorsuite
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 606 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Feeling of safety, security and Luxurious! Great entry into Kenya before or after safari. Gorgeous rooms, grounds, service, amenities. Quiet private estate like hotel. Beautiful views of the Ngong hills. Around the corner from the Blixen house ( imagine Robert Redford napping on the porch) and a short drive to the orphan elephant rescue, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. 33 baby elephants rescued after the moms were most often killed by poachers. Pool, spa, gym and unexpectedly a great place to bird. Eagles and ibis. Great verandas off of each room. Wonderful, unobtrusive staff. Stunning decor and finishes.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank CanyonAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I decided to spend two nights in Nairobi to overcome our jet lag prior to beginning our tented safari vacation. Located in the Karen neighborhood, this is a stunning boutique hotel on beautifully landscaped grounds viewing the Ngong Hills. We arrived shortly after midnight and were greeted warmly by the hotel manager and our butler. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at their restaurant and both meals were superb. Their service was outstanding. As an example, our luggage was going to exceed the weight limitation (33 pounds including carry on) for our small aircraft flights to the various camps. David Owalla, the front office manager, arranged to hold a piece of luggage and have it delivered to the airport when we were passing back through and the weight restrictions wouldn't be a concern. Getting it to our gate was not an easy proposition but David made it happen. We couldn't be happier with the accommodations or the service we received. We will surely stay at Hemingways when our travels bring us to Nairobi again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jerry M

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi. We always aim to please and go the extra mile. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Simon H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location but lunch service was very slow for a conference set up. Staff were not very welcoming but the food was delicious and handy doggy bags provided for take away. Very pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakesho254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Wakesho,

“I am greatly concerned that your welcome fell short of your expectations. I would be delighted to discuss with you to understand exactly what went wrong. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel or on 0711032000. In the meantime please rest assured of our commitment to excelling and we are confident your next visit will be outstanding.”

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having spent 10 nights at Hemingways,Watamu, followed by 3 nights at Hemingways Ol Seki, we decided to treat ourselves to a final night relaxing at Hemingway's Nairobi hotel. This is a very luxurious hotel and was well worth a visit. Our suite was large and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the well set out gardens. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent.
Our flight did not leave until midnight, so we were able to spend the day relaxing at the hotel, walking in the gardens and swimming in the heated swimming pool.
A very good way to finish what was possibly our best holiday ever.
Thank you to everyone at Hemingways

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very grateful that you chose to stay at the Hemingways Collection (Hemingways Nairobi, Hemingways Watamu and Ol-Seki Mara Hemingways) As always we endeavour to give you personalized attention and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We would love to host you again in our properties soon.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After being a loyal customer of the Brasserie restaurant at this hotel, enjoying the steaks and writing a glowing review some months back...it is time for an update. A recent meal there was a long way from the experience I expected. The service was close to non-existent. Our starters turned up before our first drink order arrived and only then after flagging down a passing staff member! I was forced to ask three times for drinks to be refilled even though our assigned waiter walked past the table and it's empty glasses. The refills were needed often because a glass of wine here is really one third of a glass of wine. It seems like a glass of wine should be at least over the half-way mark. I ordered battered fish and chips. The batter on the fish was thick, soggy and more like a dough. The fish inside this dough-like substance was musty flavored and luke warm. Very disappointing. Hopefully this place can get back on track.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeandYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear MeandYu

Thankyou for your repeat visit to Hemingways Nairobi. I am truly disappointed your last visit was not up to par. It is very important to us to ensure every visit exceeds expectations. Please accept our apologies for this and give us an opportunity to re-assure you of our standards by visiting us at your convenience. Kindly ask for myself or the duty manager, we would be delighted to meet you in person.

Regards

Simon H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews