We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms”
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here before and after going on Safari. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was great, and the food was good. I have stayed in many "five star" hotels from Vegas to Dubai and in between. This place has them beat when it comes to service and room decor! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    76
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
93
161
17
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Feeling of safety, security and Luxurious! Great entry into Kenya before or after safari. Gorgeous rooms, grounds, service, amenities. Quiet private estate like hotel. Beautiful views of the Ngong hills. Around the corner from the Blixen house ( imagine Robert Redford napping on the porch) and a short drive to the orphan elephant rescue, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. 33 baby elephants rescued after the moms were most often killed by poachers. Pool, spa, gym and unexpectedly a great place to bird. Eagles and ibis. Great verandas off of each room. Wonderful, unobtrusive staff. Stunning decor and finishes.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CanyonAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to spend two nights in Nairobi to overcome our jet lag prior to beginning our tented safari vacation. Located in the Karen neighborhood, this is a stunning boutique hotel on beautifully landscaped grounds viewing the Ngong Hills. We arrived shortly after midnight and were greeted warmly by the hotel manager and our butler. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at their restaurant and both meals were superb. Their service was outstanding. As an example, our luggage was going to exceed the weight limitation (33 pounds including carry on) for our small aircraft flights to the various camps. David Owalla, the front office manager, arranged to hold a piece of luggage and have it delivered to the airport when we were passing back through and the weight restrictions wouldn't be a concern. Getting it to our gate was not an easy proposition but David made it happen. We couldn't be happier with the accommodations or the service we received. We will surely stay at Hemingways when our travels bring us to Nairobi again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jerry M

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi. We always aim to please and go the extra mile. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location but lunch service was very slow for a conference set up. Staff were not very welcoming but the food was delicious and handy doggy bags provided for take away. Very pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakesho254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Wakesho,

“I am greatly concerned that your welcome fell short of your expectations. I would be delighted to discuss with you to understand exactly what went wrong. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel or on 0711032000. In the meantime please rest assured of our commitment to excelling and we are confident your next visit will be outstanding.”

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having spent 10 nights at Hemingways,Watamu, followed by 3 nights at Hemingways Ol Seki, we decided to treat ourselves to a final night relaxing at Hemingway's Nairobi hotel. This is a very luxurious hotel and was well worth a visit. Our suite was large and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the well set out gardens. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent.
Our flight did not leave until midnight, so we were able to spend the day relaxing at the hotel, walking in the gardens and swimming in the heated swimming pool.
A very good way to finish what was possibly our best holiday ever.
Thank you to everyone at Hemingways

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very grateful that you chose to stay at the Hemingways Collection (Hemingways Nairobi, Hemingways Watamu and Ol-Seki Mara Hemingways) As always we endeavour to give you personalized attention and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We would love to host you again in our properties soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After being a loyal customer of the Brasserie restaurant at this hotel, enjoying the steaks and writing a glowing review some months back...it is time for an update. A recent meal there was a long way from the experience I expected. The service was close to non-existent. Our starters turned up before our first drink order arrived and only then after flagging down a passing staff member! I was forced to ask three times for drinks to be refilled even though our assigned waiter walked past the table and it's empty glasses. The refills were needed often because a glass of wine here is really one third of a glass of wine. It seems like a glass of wine should be at least over the half-way mark. I ordered battered fish and chips. The batter on the fish was thick, soggy and more like a dough. The fish inside this dough-like substance was musty flavored and luke warm. Very disappointing. Hopefully this place can get back on track.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MeandYu

Thankyou for your repeat visit to Hemingways Nairobi. I am truly disappointed your last visit was not up to par. It is very important to us to ensure every visit exceeds expectations. Please accept our apologies for this and give us an opportunity to re-assure you of our standards by visiting us at your convenience. Kindly ask for myself or the duty manager, we would be delighted to meet you in person.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Being outside Nairobi makes for a peaceful environment. Very attractive hotel with lush gardens and lovely pool. Well appointed rooms and a great staff - very professional. Close to Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre, both of which are musts for visitors. Serve very good breakfast and dinner was also very good. ( a hint of quality is that locals dine there) They will pick you up at JKIA which can save the worry of arriving in a Third World city for an unseasoned traveller.

Room Tip: Try to stay at top of the hill - easier on the legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Habari

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the brasserie restaurant at Hemingways Nairobi. We hope you will visit us again.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
476 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Langata Road | Karen Office Park, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing