We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great last day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great last day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having spent 10 nights at Hemingways,Watamu, followed by 3 nights at Hemingways Ol Seki, we decided to treat ourselves to a final night relaxing at Hemingway's Nairobi hotel. This is a very luxurious hotel and was well worth a visit. Our suite was large and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the well set out gardens. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent.
Our flight did not leave until midnight, so we were able to spend the day relaxing at the hotel, walking in the gardens and swimming in the heated swimming pool.
A very good way to finish what was possibly our best holiday ever.
Thank you to everyone at Hemingways

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very grateful that you chose to stay at the Hemingways Collection (Hemingways Nairobi, Hemingways Watamu and Ol-Seki Mara Hemingways) As always we endeavour to give you personalized attention and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We would love to host you again in our properties soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    53
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
63
111
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After being a loyal customer of the Brasserie restaurant at this hotel, enjoying the steaks and writing a glowing review some months back...it is time for an update. A recent meal there was a long way from the experience I expected. The service was close to non-existent. Our starters turned up before our first drink order arrived and only then after flagging down a passing staff member! I was forced to ask three times for drinks to be refilled even though our assigned waiter walked past the table and it's empty glasses. The refills were needed often because a glass of wine here is really one third of a glass of wine. It seems like a glass of wine should be at least over the half-way mark. I ordered battered fish and chips. The batter on the fish was thick, soggy and more like a dough. The fish inside this dough-like substance was musty flavored and luke warm. Very disappointing. Hopefully this place can get back on track.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MeandYu

Thankyou for your repeat visit to Hemingways Nairobi. I am truly disappointed your last visit was not up to par. It is very important to us to ensure every visit exceeds expectations. Please accept our apologies for this and give us an opportunity to re-assure you of our standards by visiting us at your convenience. Kindly ask for myself or the duty manager, we would be delighted to meet you in person.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Being outside Nairobi makes for a peaceful environment. Very attractive hotel with lush gardens and lovely pool. Well appointed rooms and a great staff - very professional. Close to Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre, both of which are musts for visitors. Serve very good breakfast and dinner was also very good. ( a hint of quality is that locals dine there) They will pick you up at JKIA which can save the worry of arriving in a Third World city for an unseasoned traveller.

Room Tip: Try to stay at top of the hill - easier on the legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Habari

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the brasserie restaurant at Hemingways Nairobi. We hope you will visit us again.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The experience at Hemmingways was AWESOME....... The peace and tranquility of the hotel is unmatched. The staff were friendly and super helpful. My Husband and I have never had such a relaxed weekend. Special Thanks to Johnson who was very helpful with our booking and the general stay.
We will definitely be back ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nduku N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear NdukuN

Thankyou for the feedback on your experience at Hemingways Nairobi. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hemingways is newly opened boutique hotel very close to our home. Since there are not many good quality options around Karen, the restaurant became one of our frequent stop where you can have a nice candle light dinner with tasty food and a good quality service. Highly recommend their jumbo shrimp from appetizer menu, one of the best shrimp I have eaten so far:)

However, lately I have noticed it is getting busier,hoping quality of the service will not drop, because in Kenya large volume of customer can become a headache from a management point.

I am also regular spa customer, it is nicely and professionaly managed, so far very clean, and always quite which I love about. You do not want to go to a busy spa, right? Spa alsa has infinity pool, strangely I have never seen anyone swimming.

Restaurant has also have a bar, very intimate place, never gets over crowded. Both lunch and dinner is also served outdoor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear WorldTravelerZV,

We highly appreciate your candid review. We are indeed getting busier but we would like to assure you that the quality of our services will not drop, if anything they will get even better and better.

Thank you for being a regular spa visitor and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What an impressive hotel. Location is stunning, great green views out towards Karen Blixen's famed Ngong Hill. Wonderful friendly and keen to help staff, rooms are clean comfortable and (an over used word but) opulent. Sadly we did not have time to eat in the evening or to explore the wine collection, but shall return for both!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side will i suspect enjoy better views of the Ngong Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear James,

Your warm compliments are much appreciated. Perhaps next time you visit you will have time to eat in the evening and even explore our extensive wine collection.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hemingways is brand new and like a breath of fresh air in Nairobi. With its tasteful, chic and luxurious rooms, fine dining and friendly staff, it's going to raise the bar. We absolutely loved huge room--the hotel is all suites. Our favorite was the television which rose up our of an orange travel trunk (think Hermes)--so cool. The bathroom was incredible too. Food was great...beautiful lobby and grounds, even a small gym and spa. This is a perfect place for couples, families or business trips.

Room Tip: Don't think twice, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear jamesk

So glad you enjoyed it and yes the TV is unique! Many thanks for your feedback; we hope you will visit again.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing