We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the chaos of downtown Nairobi”
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hemingways is brand new and like a breath of fresh air in Nairobi. With its tasteful, chic and luxurious rooms, fine dining and friendly staff, it's going to raise the bar. We absolutely loved huge room--the hotel is all suites. Our favorite was the television which rose up our of an orange travel trunk (think Hermes)--so cool. The bathroom was incredible too. Food was great...beautiful lobby and grounds, even a small gym and spa. This is a perfect place for couples, families or business trips.

Room Tip: Don't think twice, it's worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear jamesk

So glad you enjoyed it and yes the TV is unique! Many thanks for your feedback; we hope you will visit again.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 508 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just a small note to thank you and your team for making our one year celebration very intimate and memorable.

Eli and I were just coming for dinner yesterday but on second thoughts decided to spend the night at only 2pm. I called Johnson in the reservations team and after letting him know our one year plans he was quick to get us a super executive suite at a discounted rate and ensured the room was well prepared for my arrival at 4pm. Eli and I were thoroughly impressed with the room and the service given by Enock and Godfrey the butlers. Always ensuring we were taken care of and they informed us very well on all the 'need to knows'. Kudos to the team.

My final stop was at the spa and Celestine my therapist was a gem in summary!

My conclusion is now hemmingways shall not be just my lunch plan but my home away from home plan.

Many thanks again for everything please do pass my sentiments to the team above... they are stars!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciku K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Ciku K

It was our pleasure to host you at Hemingways Nairobi for your anniversary and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Rest assured I have passed on your kind sentiments to the team.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had a reservation elsewhere in Nairobi , but nightmare of business travellers they did not have one to match! So arrived at Hemingways tried and a little flustered after some frantic calls had got me a room there. Not my first stay so aware of the hotel and it's high standards . Tonight both the hotel and the staff worked their magic , very welcoming , great meal and comfortable room. Only problem was the five am departure, however once agin the staff showed their mettle and the hotels commitment to looking after their guests as they insisted they could get me coffee and toast really quick , which they did , as I should not leave without breakfast.

Faith in (some) hotels restored!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Chris,

We are elated that the Hemingways magic augered well with you and saved your day! Our personalized service will always be at hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Many thanks for staying with us.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This amazing exquisite property ticks all the boxes. The architecture is out of this world, so plush, so quaint, so clean, the finish is impeccable, super deluxe. The service is unbeatable. The staff all so very polite, courteous, in my opinion it even rates better than the FOUR SEASONS.
The suites are so deluxe, so luxurious, i felt so comfortable and enchanted, i was reluctant to leave! The manager David is so nice so helpful, so well mannered with excellent customer relations.
The food was very good and tasty and good quality. This hotel is located in the nicest chicest area of Nairobi, Karen land. The premises so lush, so romantic, green and lovely surroundings.
Will definitely go back with hubby. This hotel is definitely a must!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Shermine54

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. In the mean time many thanks from the team at Hemingways Nairobi.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel needs to be seen to be believed! We have visited some excellent hotels all over the world but this one, with its backdrop of Kenyan hills is the most memorable.
With the service and luxury you would expect from a Kensington hotel it is perhaps something the first time visitor to Kenya would not expect, however it has that genuine feel that some hotels in the Western World do not.
As boutique hotels go it matches anything you may find in London or Paris but they are unlikely to have a Giraffe Sanctuary around the corner. A hotel that provides an ideal stop over on the way to the beach or on Safari or even as a base for a city break. The restaurant is excellent and the chef provides dishes that would do any Michelin Starred restaurant proud.
Once again it is the staff that make this hotel even better, excellent professional friendly service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkeggyItIsNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred K, Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Skeggy,

As you have rightly put it, seeing is believing. We are thrilled that you saw, liked and believed. The hotel is conveniently tucked in close proximity to The Giraffe Center and other top attractions making it an ideal stop over, as you noted. We are continually striving to improve in all spheres and we are sure your next experience will be even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Bonjour, the reply of the manager to my comment dated 29 dec 2013 is not appropriate because if the hotel has a policy of reservation they shall announce it to the public. Also, in kenya it's not alowed by the traffic code to reverse from into a busy road since the hotel does not provide for turning space. Good neighbourhood is very important I must exclaim to the hotel management.
I shall contact the management outside Kenya to make them aware of management problems in Nairobi.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear peter w

Hemingways is a Kenyan owned company. The owners are local residents; should you wish to contact them to pursue this matter please feel free to contact the hotel and we will facilitate direct communication for you.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A super posh place where you can make reservations to have a meal. Tuesday is half priced steak night, and the steak is delicious so that is a great opportunity to go experience the luxurious colonial legacy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N0MADIC-BY-NATURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,163 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
929 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Langata Road | Karen Office Park, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $532 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing