We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

On a whim, my boyfriend and I, along with two girlfriends decided to go for lunch. The Askari at the gate was pleasant and informed us that it was best to make a reservation for future visits, but he let us in anyway. My first impression was good customer service right from the gate! The front desk greeted us warmly and we had a wonderful time seeing the grounds, rooms and spa. Blaise was our guide and he was friendly and informative.

Grounds: I am a sucker for a good view and you will not be disappointed. The lawns are well manicured, and you can see the Ngong Hills in the horizon. Definitely sit outside because there is a grand water feature that may interfere with the view if you decide to side inside. The green patio is my favorite element about this place. I could just sit out there all day!

Food: I was surprised about the menu...for an upscale place as this and how the chef was lauded, the menu is similar to what you get at any good restaurant...steaks, burgers, pastas and salads. I was even more surprised that there were only 2 vegetarian items on the menu (I don't count salads as vegetarian items...we do not exist on salads!). I am a non-dairy vegetarian so the veg lasagna was not an option. So, I ended up ordering a side of truffle fries (nice but just a tad oily), spinach (the best!) and the pear salad. I asked for the dressing to come on the side but when it came it was dressed and overly done that the lettuce wasn't crunchy at all. Such a shame to drown perfectly good veggies in a dressing. My boyfriend had a huge steak (rump, I think) and he loved it. It was done medium, as he had ordered it and he said it "cut like butter"!

Wait staff: The wait staff were polite, smiling and willing to help but we had a hard time figuring out who to tip at the end of our lunch. We were served by 5 different people! That's a little much in my opinion. Also there was some miscommunication due to the number of servers. We started off drinking a Shiraz but when another server came to refill he said that they were out so we called the other server and they said it was still available? I think one server per table is sufficient. We did give our feedback to the guest relations desk at the entrance and she was receptive to the information.

Rooms: although we weren't staying in the rooms, we checked them out. Luxurious! I love the TV chest and the deep tub! I would love to wake up in these rooms!

Spa: We toured the Spa while we were there and went back a week later with 7 girlfriends. They were running a Christmas special (Spasterrie or something) for pedicures and high tea. Basically they booked the entire spa for us that day! Kate, Evans and the team were awesome! We had such a wonderful time! The only feedback we had was that some of the buxom ladies felt that the robes were too small. Also it would be a good idea to get some AC above the lockers/changing section. After using the sauna, steam room and showering, we needed a cool down to dress up (this was also communicated to guest relations).

All in all, a good experience, just some things that need to be tweaked to make it a good value for the money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    51
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
104
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Okay so having heard so many great things about this hotel, I decided to give it a try. Being a resident of Nairobi I only had lunch there- but I'm glad thats where it stopped!! The service was pathetic and the food arrived cold and bland! Nobody even bothered to check in to see whether everything was okay or give you any attention. Its really sad to write this because the hotel is located in the most stunning location in Karen. The weather was fantastic and the garden was beautiful but everything else was a huge disappointment! Not worth the money and not worth a second visit!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenyalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear kenyalanna

I am disappointed that your visit did not live up to expectations and from your review it is unclear whether you raised your concerns at the time. I have checked and we have no record of a complaint on the said day. Perhaps as you are a local resident you would be good enough to drop in when convenient for you and we could get to the bottom of what went wrong. In the mean time please accept our apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Enjoy this beautiful new facility in the outskirts of Nairobi, in Karen Kenya. Friendly, well trained staff and the cleanest, modern rooms I have seen in a long time. Each room has a balcony for outdoor seating. This new facility was designed to provide a first class comfort.

Room Tip: Sit by the pool or enjoy the spa. The rooms are beyond your imagination. The staff is as friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldRLeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear DonaldRLeger

Many thanks for your encouraging feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel situated in Karen. Furnished with great taste, the rooms feel very luxurious. We had too dinners at the hotel and both were super. The spa treatments felt price worthy and felt reinvigorated pampered. During our stay we experienced only very good service from the staff, even when it came to helping us clean up in the middle of the night. Perfect hospitality.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

It was our absolute pleasure to host you. We hope you will stay with us when next in Kenya.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Sadly to know that the hotel Hemingways is situated in our neighbourhood KAREN. Today we wanted to have a short break from tje the hectic Xmas festivities but it was impossible bevause of a security guard named Mr Donald. Most incompetent, unfortunately. Today, 25.12.13 he told us that he doesn't accept visitors without reservation. I am surprised that he does select visitors at the gate. Anyway, for us living in Karen will not recommend any person in Karen and through the internet to visit that hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear peter w

As a luxury boutique hotel it is imperative we satisfy our in house guests as well as non hotel residents. We operate a booking policy in order to ensure we do not accept more guests than we can cope with as this would compromise our standards. Christmas day was a good example as due to the demand for our brasserie restaurant we were fully booked weeks in advance. Had we allowed more guests in it would have spoiled the experience for all. In future please feel free to make a reservation on 0718529070

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I had a marvelous 2 days stay in this Hotel and all I remember is the environmental well-being, the service and the smiles of the hotel personnel! The food was superb and served within time! The colors,nature, the artifacts and view was just too amazing! I loove everything about Hemingways except the prices of course..!A good hotel indeed and I recommend everyone who loves nature and good service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Malkia M

I am glad that everything about your stay was superb and look forward to you visiting us again next time you are in Nairobi.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a business retreat of 3 days. The surroundings are beautiful and the service impeccable. The rooms are well decorated with an "out of africa" upmarket look. The food was delicious and the desserts yummy.
I didn't give it 5 stars because of the mosquitoes. There was an invasion during my stay! they were all over the place, we could not sit outside in the evening and in your room make sure you spray inside the mosquito net :)
Karen is quite far from Nairobi city center so make sure you don't have meeting in town. One morning, it tooks us 3 hours to get to a meeting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oulzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HRS, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing