We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money middle budget hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Ranked #82 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money middle budget hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is situated in downtown Nairobi City. The theme, decor and ambience is very appealing. If you are a business traveller, who requires a middle budget hotel, this is the place to be. Their services are beyond expectations, starting with the check in at the reception, onto the spacious rooms. The breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant are wonderful with a touch of African cuisine, not to be left behind are services at the business center, gym and bar. This is a hotel, I would highly recommend to any traveller who wants value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, facing the main street have a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent W, General Manager at Hotel Central Park Nairobi, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback.It was a great inspiration and has made us work better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
10
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is located in a busy part of the city but once inside you wouldnt tell it apart from other class hotels.
The hotel is very clean and the staff were courteous & friendly. I felt secure within the hotel and with staff.
My family and I ate and enjoyed several meals at this hotel too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenLKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel twice and will never return. The rooms are ridiculously noisy, partly due to the neighborhood (which was not great) and partly due to the Zumba classes that literally vibrate every room in the hotel starting at 6am. We complained to the front desk who was unresponsive. The beds are rock hard, the bathrooms only somewhat clean, and the towels had hair on them. No mosquito nets. Btw, am not even sure where the "management provided photos" on this trip advisor listing came from..saw nothing like the sleek boardroom and clean exterior that these pictures show! If you are looking to save a few bucks, don't do it by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OvertheHill-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent W, Manager at Hotel Central Park Nairobi, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sorry for the experience.We listen,we care and we value our guests.Your review has helped us and we have already taken action.We are in the final stages of putting sound proof windows to ensure that the noise from our health club does not disturb our clients.
We would like to host you again when you visit Nairobi and we shall offer a complimentary night.
Thank you again and we take all reviews positively because we are partners and would like all our guests to have the finest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here everytime i travel to nairobi. The rooms are perfect. the staff is friendly. The restaurant is good with a extensive african, indian, chinese and contiental menu and the prices are average. I have had breakfast, lunch and dinner here several times. At times the resturant becomes crowded and there seems to be a shortage of staff, you might have to wait for a while before u can locate someone to place your order. Overall, its a very friendly place and real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are planning your first trip to Africa. It caters to few Westerners, clients are mostly Africans, and it's located on a busy but somewhat hard-to-find street in the hustle and bustle of downtown Nairobi. The price is great (I paid $60), the staff are very nice and entirely trustworthy, and the hotel is safe. You can walk around the neighborhood in the day (though not much of interest is nearby), but it's not safe to do so at night.
I had one mosquito in the room (there is no net), but Nairobi doesn't have malaria so I wasn't concerned. The hotel has a decent restaurant, and breakfast is fine too. There's the occasional prostitute sitting in the bar lounge looking for work.
Wifi works fairly well in the rooms. The shower was fine. There is a TV with a few channels. There's also A/C and heat.
There is some noise, but not bad.
It's definitely a budget hotel, but it could be perfect for your needs and pocketbook. I will use it again. But it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night in March. Overall this hotel was pretty good. It cost a lot more then I like to spend per night on a trip and it is not super fancy or special, but at $70USD a night, it is one of the least expensive hotels you will find in Nairobi outside of backpacker digs. I had a double room with one queen bed that was comfortable. The room was small, but clean, well maintained, fairly up-to-date with a TV, refrigerator, hot water and awesome water pressure. The Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The rate included breakfast which was a basic breakfast buffet of juice, coffee, tea, eggs cooked to your liking, toast, potatoes and fruits. It was just fine. Breakfast was served in the restaurant. That was the only meal I ate there. I did not go to the bar. There was free wifi throughout the hotel. The signal is very strong, the wifi slow...(welcome to Nairobi!)

Cons? A few but nothing a deal breaker. No safes in the rooms, which is always nice. The front dest would take your valuables and put them in an envelope in their safe. There is no air con, which is not needed in Nairobi as it is fairly cool at night. However, it is really noisy with the window open and there are no mosquito nets. There is also no fan of any sort in the room which would be great. Just a small fan would make this property a lot better as the rooms have no air flow at all if the window is closed and really noisy if open.

Location is really a rush but in a good location. Once you get used to it. If you actually tried to find this hotel on your own, I don't think you could. It is buried down a small crowded street and blends in with it's surroundings. It is right next to a small Tusker grocery store for you to pick up drinks and snacks. You are also surrounded buy a multitude of shops and services and the constant hustle and bustle of the city. The guard up front was great in hailing me a taxi to the airport. Cost for the taxi was 1500ksh. (around $17)

Overall I found Hotel Central Park to be an overall good hotel. It could use a couple little tweeks, but I would stay there again. Bring ear plugs for sleeping....trust me on this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Decent rooms, Perfectly clean and convenient configuration. Stayed there for 3 Nights and I will Absolutely go back there whenever in Nairobi. Liked the Breakfast Buffet,the bar naxt to the Reception was really cool.The Receptionist was the most friendliest person so far,(She puts on Glassess),can't Remember her name.Definately recommending it to my friends.Location was very convenient, Room number 214 is Fantastic.Airport pick up and drop off service was proffesional. You will see more of me there...

Room Tip: 214 is quite something.Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#63 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Seldom Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Kima Hotel
#83 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park Nairobi

Property: Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Address: Sheikh Karume Road | Between Ronald Ngara and Luthuli, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel central park is a three star hotel located in the heart of Nairobi county.We offer quality serviceat a very reasonable rate.We also have new apartments(furnished and unfurnished) that are self catering located at the posh area of westlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central Park Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing