We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Ranked #109 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here everytime i travel to nairobi. The rooms are perfect. the staff is friendly. The restaurant is good with a extensive african, indian, chinese and contiental menu and the prices are average. I have had breakfast, lunch and dinner here several times. At times the resturant becomes crowded and there seems to be a shortage of staff, you might have to wait for a while before u can locate someone to place your order. Overall, its a very friendly place and real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
11
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are planning your first trip to Africa. It caters to few Westerners, clients are mostly Africans, and it's located on a busy but somewhat hard-to-find street in the hustle and bustle of downtown Nairobi. The price is great (I paid $60), the staff are very nice and entirely trustworthy, and the hotel is safe. You can walk around the neighborhood in the day (though not much of interest is nearby), but it's not safe to do so at night.
I had one mosquito in the room (there is no net), but Nairobi doesn't have malaria so I wasn't concerned. The hotel has a decent restaurant, and breakfast is fine too. There's the occasional prostitute sitting in the bar lounge looking for work.
Wifi works fairly well in the rooms. The shower was fine. There is a TV with a few channels. There's also A/C and heat.
There is some noise, but not bad.
It's definitely a budget hotel, but it could be perfect for your needs and pocketbook. I will use it again. But it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night in March. Overall this hotel was pretty good. It cost a lot more then I like to spend per night on a trip and it is not super fancy or special, but at $70USD a night, it is one of the least expensive hotels you will find in Nairobi outside of backpacker digs. I had a double room with one queen bed that was comfortable. The room was small, but clean, well maintained, fairly up-to-date with a TV, refrigerator, hot water and awesome water pressure. The Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The rate included breakfast which was a basic breakfast buffet of juice, coffee, tea, eggs cooked to your liking, toast, potatoes and fruits. It was just fine. Breakfast was served in the restaurant. That was the only meal I ate there. I did not go to the bar. There was free wifi throughout the hotel. The signal is very strong, the wifi slow...(welcome to Nairobi!)

Cons? A few but nothing a deal breaker. No safes in the rooms, which is always nice. The front dest would take your valuables and put them in an envelope in their safe. There is no air con, which is not needed in Nairobi as it is fairly cool at night. However, it is really noisy with the window open and there are no mosquito nets. There is also no fan of any sort in the room which would be great. Just a small fan would make this property a lot better as the rooms have no air flow at all if the window is closed and really noisy if open.

Location is really a rush but in a good location. Once you get used to it. If you actually tried to find this hotel on your own, I don't think you could. It is buried down a small crowded street and blends in with it's surroundings. It is right next to a small Tusker grocery store for you to pick up drinks and snacks. You are also surrounded buy a multitude of shops and services and the constant hustle and bustle of the city. The guard up front was great in hailing me a taxi to the airport. Cost for the taxi was 1500ksh. (around $17)

Overall I found Hotel Central Park to be an overall good hotel. It could use a couple little tweeks, but I would stay there again. Bring ear plugs for sleeping....trust me on this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Decent rooms, Perfectly clean and convenient configuration. Stayed there for 3 Nights and I will Absolutely go back there whenever in Nairobi. Liked the Breakfast Buffet,the bar naxt to the Reception was really cool.The Receptionist was the most friendliest person so far,(She puts on Glassess),can't Remember her name.Definately recommending it to my friends.Location was very convenient, Room number 214 is Fantastic.Airport pick up and drop off service was proffesional. You will see more of me there...

Room Tip: 214 is quite something.Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The central park hotel in Nairobi is a 3 star hotel within the city and close to all the hot spots. Less than 5 minutes away from movie theaters, churches, house of parliament and other business locations it offers the best value for your money. This 3 star hotel has very good customer service and the food and accommodation are of high standards. The only down side is that it is located in the noisy part of the city.For most of us who are on a tight budget, this is a good deal and i would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the opposite side of the main road are less noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank going2kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here around 6 times in the last few years. The rooms are always clean and it is very well priced for Nairobi. It has a good gym and excellent sauna. Supermarket next door and centrally located. WiFi can be used also.
The only down sides are no air-con or fan, no mossie nets and i have found this year (Nov 2012) that they sometimes have an aerobics class in the gym on the top floor at 7am. This woke me up most mornings as the music is blasting out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mallamombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed here twice, in August 2012 and August 2011. This is not my favorite hotel in Nairobi, but it is convenient to Tusky's where we buy our supplies. I always feel safe here, the breakfast buffet is very good. The room is fine but small. There is no mosquito net. The shower is okay--I never know how to get the water hotter and I've never asked.

Room Tip: Some of my friends say it is noisy near the bar and the gym when they have fitness classes. But I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#67 of 165 in Nairobi
40 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#101 of 165 in Nairobi
49 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#100 of 165 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Breeze Hotel
#48 of 165 in Nairobi
72 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#131 of 165 in Nairobi
42 reviews
Sky Hotel Nairobi
#59 of 165 in Nairobi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park Nairobi

Property: Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Address: Sheikh Karume Road | Between Ronald Ngara and Luthuli, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel central park is a three star hotel located in the heart of Nairobi county.We offer quality serviceat a very reasonable rate.We also have new apartments(furnished and unfurnished) that are self catering located at the posh area of westlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Central Park Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing