We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great micro brewery beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Brasserie

Sierra Brasserie
Ranked #61 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sierra brings together unique South African wines from the lesser known wine estates and dry aged grass fed angus beef for the steaks and burgers from the foothills of Mt.Kenya for a uniquely African experience. Sierra also has its own state-of-the-art brewery on Mombasa road and they therefore make their own stout beer.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great micro brewery beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are in the centre of town and want a beer that is not Tusker then head up to the Sierra Brasserie in the Ya Ya Centre. Serves great beers and good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is OK but service is getting bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Food used to be good here. I went yesterday hoping to get steak. There was no steak.

Worse, I sat and got a menu, and then the waitress disappeared for 15 minutes. I asked to speak to a manager - the waitress I asked (a different one) was not listening to what I said. When she finally figured out what I wanted, there was no manager available. Instead, there was a "supervisor" who was inept at handling a complaint.

I walked out and went to the food court downstairs instead. I used to go to Sierra often, but with the service level declining, I am unlikely to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NairobiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, dissapointing service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I have come here severally, mostly over lunch. The food is great, background music is nice, and I really enjoy the seating area on the terrace. The service, however, is not quite up to par. Our experience today, was particularly disappointing. After waiting for over 30mins for food we had been told would be ready in 10mins, we politely asked the waiter what was going on. He rudely denied that we had waited for that long and refused to speak to us after that. A simple apology would have gone a long way in keeping us coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great salmon brilliant halloumi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent salmon and halloumi cheese. Good service, excellent ambiance especially on a nice warm day when one can seat outside. The inside is also good. Fantastic service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turgoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place with great food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Even though it is located in a mall this is really a fantastic place. The food selection is amazing. And it tastes fantastic. Especially their fish is more than yummi.

So I will highly recommend this place to people coming to Kenya - For a lunch or early dinner I would prefer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilimani_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Brasserie also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Sierra Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing