We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and friendly, cheerful Staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant

Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 477 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Aero Club of East Africa was founded in 1927 by the aviation pioneers who opened up the frontiers of Africa. It still retains that 1930s romantic charm and historical ambience. The club is the only restaurant at Wilson Airport, four km from Nairobi’s central business district on the Langata Road. It is on the edge of the Athi Plains, with easy access to the Nairobi National Park and Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The restaurant has inside dining, a large eating deck and tables in the garden and by the swimming pool. It overlooks Wilson’s 007 runway and is an ideal spot to spend the hours before you leave on safari or to unwind on your return and watch planes and helicopters land and take off while soaking up the atmosphere in this legendary piece of Kenya’s aviation history. Chef Neil McCarthy and the Creative Kitchen Co. team moved into the restaurant at the Aero Club of East Africa on 1st October 2011. Neil has cooked and consulted all over the world, from London’s Mayfair Hotel and the Moscow Metropole to California’s vineyards and top-range hotels across Africa, including the Mt. Kenya Safari Club and Nairobi’s Tribe hotel. He is famous for his tasty gourmet burgers and dry-rub spicy BBQ ribs. He creates tasty international buffets and a la carte specialties. Sinful puddings include his New York style, melt in your mouth, baked cheese cake and home baked apple pie. He serves mouthwatering and seriously satisfying food.
Arusha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly, cheerful Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have a ten day stay at The Aero Club which is longer than most people...yes, my room is old but I find it clean. The Staff are very good and the food is way beyond what I would have expected...in fact the reputation of good food is spreading and I was told about in in Arusha before I came up. The Chili con Carne is really good and the Hamburgers are memorable. I encourage anyone coming to Nairobi...I am a hotelier of 40+ years experience at all levels ....someone here is doing a great job of managing the standards!.
Richard Johnston

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Running1Arusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Standard but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything is good on the menu, a few special items that are great. Nice view on the air strip. Place for the kids to play.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zulusafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best veg burger ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Been meaning to try this for ages and glad finally got round to it. They are not advertising fine or elegant dining, just tasty 'comfort food' at affordable prices. The terrace is basic but pleasant as is having the option to eat under an umbrella in the garden. Fun watching the planes on the runway on the other side of the fence. My veg burger was probably the best I have ever had and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his beef burger too. Delicious chips. Portion was a bit big for the plate and bits kept landing on the table. Menu was imaginatively presented and extensive. The restaurant is a separate entity from the club who operate the reception and the bar. Drinks were cheap but the waiter could certainly do with some training - the famous answer when you ask what type of house wine they serve - "red and white"! Receptionist not welcoming at all at the entrance. Shame they can't match the service level of the restaurant. Would be great if kids were allowed to use the clubhouse pool when eating at the restaurant - it is reserved for members. Sure they could make some revenue if they charged to do so. If it wasn't for the traffic on Langata Road would definitely eat there a lot more often. My kids would really enjoy it so will battle the traffic one weekend and take them down there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giftedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hype?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The service was average, the food average, the decor drab. I think this place had been hyped up for no reason, please beware!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't agree with most people who rave about this place . Yes , area is certainly interesting , noisy but nice , the atmosphere in the bar is very ok if you can handle the staff shooting at you if you take your phone , it is forbidden i know , but there are ways or saying . the inside of the restaurant is the dullest place in Nairobi , the terrace very nice , but the food is very very average . hundreds places were you eat better . prices ok . Staff not very interested in their clients . But i go there when in the neighborhood . certainly not bad . but lets not make this a temple of good taste .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STONNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing