We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to dine at Wilson Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant

Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Aero Club of East Africa was founded in 1927 by the aviation pioneers who opened up the frontiers of Africa. It still retains that 1930s romantic charm and historical ambience. The club is the only restaurant at Wilson Airport, four km from Nairobi’s central business district on the Langata Road. It is on the edge of the Athi Plains, with easy access to the Nairobi National Park and Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The restaurant has inside dining, a large eating deck and tables in the garden and by the swimming pool. It overlooks Wilson’s 007 runway and is an ideal spot to spend the hours before you leave on safari or to unwind on your return and watch planes and helicopters land and take off while soaking up the atmosphere in this legendary piece of Kenya’s aviation history. Chef Neil McCarthy and the Creative Kitchen Co. team moved into the restaurant at the Aero Club of East Africa on 1st October 2011. Neil has cooked and consulted all over the world, from London’s Mayfair Hotel and the Moscow Metropole to California’s vineyards and top-range hotels across Africa, including the Mt. Kenya Safari Club and Nairobi’s Tribe hotel. He is famous for his tasty gourmet burgers and dry-rub spicy BBQ ribs. He creates tasty international buffets and a la carte specialties. Sinful puddings include his New York style, melt in your mouth, baked cheese cake and home baked apple pie. He serves mouthwatering and seriously satisfying food.
warwick,ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place to dine at Wilson Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

reasonable and they offer rooms too $ 50 pp for the night. We ate lunch between flights. Arrived from Meru and headed to the Mara, an excellent locale steeped in East African history

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelswithsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    54
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to belong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The garden and the quality service plus security. Being my first visit my expectations were challenged.I learned that service quality can be gauged or measured with certainty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Festus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
338 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Its nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a nice burger here on the veranda towards end of day as the light was fading and last of the days air traffic was returning. Its a nice setting, but the food is just ok. The burger is not giant - is a quarter pounder - but you do have several options for what to stack on it. They give you a long board of about 8 fresh chili sauces ranging from mild to hot. Chips were fine. They have range of other things on the menu, including roast on Sundays. Note that the restaurant closes around sundown - not open for dinner really. Cant really understand the flurry of top ratings that the place attracted recently.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
“Aero Club, A Traveler's Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant is a fabulous spot to get some great food and a taste of Nairobi nostalgia. Lovely staff, surrounded by photos and memories of the early days of air travel to Nairobi's Wilson airport. Hemingway and Gellhorn would be right at home here...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rolleigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Stay, Wonderful People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Luckily enough for me while I was waiting on a flight from Nairobi, Kenya to Ottawa, Canada, I was recommended to spend my time at the Aero Club. Not only was I greeted with the utmost kindness and respect, I was also offered to leave my bags with the reception so I could explore the inner city of Nairobi unencumbered.
Upon my return to the bar/restaurant I was delighted to watch a breathtaking sunset as a wide variety of general aircraft were operating only a few meters away from where I was seated. I was in aviation heaven.
Next time, this is where I will be staying!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing