We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mother Of All Experiences”

Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Aero Club of East Africa was founded in 1927 by the aviation pioneers who opened up the frontiers of Africa. It still retains that 1930s romantic charm and historical ambience. The club is the only restaurant at Wilson Airport, four km from Nairobi’s central business district on the Langata Road. It is on the edge of the Athi Plains, with easy access to the Nairobi National Park and Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The restaurant has inside dining, a large eating deck and tables in the garden and by the swimming pool. It overlooks Wilson’s 007 runway and is an ideal spot to spend the hours before you leave on safari or to unwind on your return and watch planes and helicopters land and take off while soaking up the atmosphere in this legendary piece of Kenya’s aviation history. Chef Neil McCarthy and the Creative Kitchen Co. team moved into the restaurant at the Aero Club of East Africa on 1st October 2011. Neil has cooked and consulted all over the world, from London’s Mayfair Hotel and the Moscow Metropole to California’s vineyards and top-range hotels across Africa, including the Mt. Kenya Safari Club and Nairobi’s Tribe hotel. He is famous for his tasty gourmet burgers and dry-rub spicy BBQ ribs. He creates tasty international buffets and a la carte specialties. Sinful puddings include his New York style, melt in your mouth, baked cheese cake and home baked apple pie. He serves mouthwatering and seriously satisfying food.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Mother Of All Experiences”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Creative Kitchen simply blew us away. From the time we walked in, we were immediately made to feel at home. The personal touch of the owners, Neil and Tara makes this experience even more amazing. Their food quality was out of the ordinary. Everything freshly prepared and I, being a sucker for veg burgers, fell madly in love with their burger - King Style!!

Awesome experience..Looking forward to going there very soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“More than just a great restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant is located inside the security fence at Wilson Airport. Most people, including Kenyans don't know that Wilson Airport is named for a pioneering female aviator who actually flew out of this airport and the Aero Club. Beryl Markham, another famous female aviator also flew out of here. And, how about Dennis Finch Hatton, the playboy lover, played by Robert Redford, in the movie "Out of Africa", based on the book by Karen Blxen, hung out here as well.

The restaurant has a great outdoor seating area. The food was delicious. I had a terrific chicken curry, the best I've had in Africa. My companions had HUGE burgers.

And, yes, you can watch planes take off and land in an endless procession. I couldn't resist getting a souvenir shirt, even though I had to ask them to sell me one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, Loch Fyne
1 review
“A gem of a place complimented with a warm welcome”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The food, the welcome, the excellent service in a wonderful setting - all first class. Sitting watching the little planes take off from the decking, a beautiful garden below with tables and shade, ideal and safe for the children - the Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant is the place to get re-fuelled before setting off on your next adventure. However, if I was lucky enough to live in Nairobi it would become a firm favourite. After a delicious meal I slept all the way back to Heathrow! Many thanks for being so welcoming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is an excellent place to stop for a meal and has an excellent all round selection. The burgers are particularly unarguably the best! The salad selection alive cooking is also great! The garden is also well maintained and also has some activities for kids.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raju254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creative Kitchen - Excels”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not may people know it but The Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also offers top end catering services under the brand name Creative Kitchen. We have used them twice professionally this month, once for a very complicated event where the team provided a first class lunch up in Turkana, having flown all the staff and food in that morning and then again for a simpler packed lunch service for a day trip.

The food was excellent on both occasions. How any of the aviation companies at Wilson can even consider any other provider for 5 Star packed lunches would be beyond me. Well done Creative Kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing