We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different experience”
Review of Eastland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastland Hotel
Ranked #84 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I hadn't heard about this hotel prior to my stay there, so I was not sure what to expect - my google search did reveal that it was a chinese hotel. I stayed at the hotel for a week in April, 2013. The rooms are clean and comfortable and make for a good nights rest. My first two days were faced with adjusting to the breakfast menu that did not provide a variety for those without experience with chinese food. Similar challenges were experienced with the lunch time menu, service was slow and variety of food was limited. However for the lunch menu, there was improvement as the week progressed. Faced a similar experience with the variety of television channels, that were mainly oriental. The bar is overpriced and not pocket friendly, service is also quite slow. However, the staff at the reception are friendly and quick to provide service when need be, there's also good wifi. Location is ideal if you want to keep off the central business district.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakene_Nzuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Eastland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for my whole business trip in nairobi,and it was a very good stay, definitely worth it for the money you spend,the staff are friendly and really helpful.
the food was amazing,i didnt know we could get nice chinese food in nairobi it was indeed a good experience

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were pleased with the staff and conditions at the hotel. Our room was clean, well stocked and quiet. We enjoyed the combination of breakfast foods, with omelets, an abundance of fresh fruits and juices, and many other items. Dinner was always good. I'd recommend this hotel to others. They are in the process of building a pool.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carol_jetlagfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

While it is still benefiting from the fact that it is brand new, it looks and feels like an impersonal bunker. The staff is not always proficient in English (it took me 3 phone calls and 20mn to order room service), although very nice. Expensive compared to other alternatives nearby.
Good internet connection.
Food entirely chinese....no selection besides chinese food. Quality varies greatly from dish to dish.
Most importantly, the management is not accommodating, even to repeat customers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Globetrotter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

East land is a few miles from the Central Business District in Nairobi. I was there for some nights with my girlfriend and it was indeed romantic with the spa, saunas and the serenity of the environment. Though the restaurant houses some rich Chinese cuisine, it can be a perfect destination for any one whatsoever. The staff was okay because there are kenyans and chinese ones and the kenyan ones were okay as far as English as a language was concerned. The killer thing with the hotel is that apart from the Luxurious feel of it, the prices are fair enough, i mean not expensive. I might consider visiting again with my lovely girlfriend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the east have a beautiful feel as the sun rises in the morning.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costantine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Eastland is a hotel still under construction. The two top floors are still being finalised, so there was a bit of construction voice while we were there in the daytime. Everything in the hotel from matchboxes to soap dispensers has been imported from China, so everything is labelled in Chinese as well as English. The restaurant boasts an impressive selection of Chinese cuisine as is customary with most Chinese restaurants. Staff is a mix of Kenyans and Chinese management. Unfortunately, the Chinese staff has a bit of a problem with English. Rooms are ok albeit rather scruffy looking already considering it is yet an unfinished hotel. Breakfast is below average. Price was ok, however, so might give this hotel another chance.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away form the courtyard. There are a couple of VIP karaoke rooms in the restaur...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#77 of 167 in Nairobi
35 reviews
Royal Tulip Canaan Nairobi
#58 of 167 in Nairobi
32 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#55 of 167 in Nairobi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Hotel
#18 of 167 in Nairobi
93 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#56 of 167 in Nairobi
72 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Yaya Hotel & Apartments
Yaya Hotel & Apartments
#67 of 167 in Nairobi
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Hotel

Address: Ring Road | Kilimani, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 Star international Hotel situated in Kilimani area on Kilimani Road near YAYA CENTRE in the southern part of Nairobi. The hotel is well secured with alarm system within and outside perimeters. It is 19 km away from JKIA and 7 km from the city centre.Lt is surrounded with facilities which include shopping malls, hospitals, temples, churches and entertainment sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing