We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of The Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarion Hotel
Ranked #100 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Bungoma, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Hotel is coming up better everyday. Super Reliable Wifi on all floors. I personally loved the newly Introduced Steam Bath and by the way, when there, have a look at the deluxe Rooms, they are just awesome. Great Improvement, great milestone.
I got a single room for 70$ which in comparison within the town, the deal is great. The addition of 3 level basement parking also served right as the Hotel is within Nairobi CBD.
Good Work Clarion!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thadeusbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
3
7
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here based on the Clarion brand as we have stayed at other Clarion hotels in other countries and found them ok.
This was just shocking!
No WIFI which we made sure to ask before booking and again at checking.
We stayed at one of the top floors and there was no hot water at all the whole 2 days we were there.To make matters worse,the staff members kept saying that it was an issue with the whole hotel and the plumber was going to come in in an hour or 2.This turned out to be a wild goose chase.One of the ladies that cleans the place ended up telling us that the floor we were on was one of the ones without hot water and has been like that for over 3 months.She ended up organizing bucket hot water for us later and we were more than happy with her.We complained to the manager who claimed to know nothing of the sort and offered to have us transferred to another room if we would spend another night(never mind that reception had said the issue was with the whole hotel!)Needless to say,we left and would not ever recommend this place to anyone no matter how desperate you are.
Better off to pay a little cheaper and know exactly what you are getting into instead of the $95 we paid and get such crap service!

Room Tip: Higher rooms generally have no hot water. WIFI only at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsCpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Nairobi for a week as I was on business nearby.
It wasn’t the most expensive hotel in the centre but nor was it the cheapest. I expected a half decent hotel for £90 a night.
This was so not the case. The rooms were of a poorly built standard considering this hotel is only a year old. The toilet was not secured properly to the floor and the taps were also loose.
There was a kettle in the room but no cups or tea making facilities (what’s the point)
I booked this hotel as it advertised WIFI as this was essential for my business in the city. There was no WIFI connection in the rooms; it was only in the restaurant. The signal and speed was the worst I have ever experienced, it took nearly 2 minutes to download a picture as the signal kept dropping out. There was an RJ45 terminal in the rooms you could use but if you have a modern laptop you will know they do not have RJ45 ports in them.
The food was not bad and at a reasonable price. However, there were many lights in the ceiling of the restaurant that didn’t work so you were almost eating meals in the dark at times.
I have never written about a hotel and not a person to complain about trivial things, but I feel that anyone who forks out £90 a night for a hotel you should at least expect to get what they are advertising. There is no excuse for bad service and fooling people into staying in a hotel that quite frankly is 2 star at best.
Do not stop in this hotel unless you get it for around £30 a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The coffee shop is excellent. However the meals in the dining room need an improvement. They need a bit of touch of class. The napkins look like they were recycled from another hotel and cutlery looks aged. Not so good for a dining experience in a new hotel.

Room Tip: Can work for a one night stop. Not conducive for long stay since it is in a very busy part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Pros: nice enough rooms, nice staff, easy access to a restaurant, a bar, and a super cute coffee shop.

Cons: They claimed to have wifi, but we could barely find a signal. Also, they required us to pay in cash, despite allegedly accepting credit cards. When we tried to pay each morning, they insisted the machine was broken, but honestly, I think that was untrue - they just wanted to avoid paying fees. As a result, we spent way more US cash than we had budgeted for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is newly renovated, the rooms aand bathrooms are clean. the staff team is friendly and always ready to assist. there is need to improve on food preparation and presentation. the bar needs variety of wine. there is an on and off of power problem and the corridors are dark. there is need to consider introducing a one day entertainment eg. one man guitar or a jazz band to avoid guests going out in search of entertaiment. overall the hotel is average.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is new. the rooms are good and location in town but except that nothing.
1. The electricity in the passage was not there
2. the internet service was not available. although they gave me 25% discount for that but i needed internet
3. the shower either gives boiling water or cold water
4. the restaurant looked good & i just order milk + fruit. i just had fruit and left the restaurant as it took 20 mins for them to bring a glass of milk.
5. the telephone nos on the site are not in service

Room Tip: There are other cheaper hotels in town with same service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YOGESH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#73 of 164 in Nairobi
38 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 164 in Nairobi
210 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#62 of 164 in Nairobi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#39 of 164 in Nairobi
271 reviews
West Breeze Hotel
#53 of 164 in Nairobi
69 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarion Hotel

Property: The Clarion Hotel
Address: Moi Avenue | Opposite Jevanjee Gardens, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Clarion Hotel, Nairobi, an oasis of tranquility and serenity where we blend Hospitality with creativity to ensure consistent delivery of high quality service. The Clarion Hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi, overlooking the central business district and close to major landmarks. It is in Kenya's most exciting, commercial and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing