We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Above and Beyond-- Great Hotel closer to the airport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond-- Great Hotel closer to the airport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our group stayed here twice..one night before and one after … our safari. The facility is top notch from the staff who pick you up at the airport to the desk staff to the bellmen. We had several members who were suffering stomach issues. Not only did they call a medical staff to come and tend to our needs, but they went out of their way to obtain the medications required! It was a blessing to have this need cared for so well.

Additionally, we hosted a large gathering that was catered! YUM! It was a delicious buffet that looked as good as it tasted complete with made to order pasta bar! Lovely!

Trip Tip: The breakfast buffet is wonderful! You will not need to eat lunch after you partake!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMcCarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    164
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
69
122
40
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Have stayed overnight at the Boma, Nairobi on my last three visits to Kenya as it is now impossible to catch the last flight to Mombasa if arriving on BA due to the late arrival of the flight from Heathrow. As far as I am concerned this is money that I resent spending so the Boma was up against it from the beginning. However on each of my stays everything has been great. Fast & efficient check in. Booking requests delivered. Punctual and pleasant pick up and return to the airport. Good rooms with high standard of cleanliness and facilities and zero sound disturbance.
On every visit the staff have been lovely. Efficient and friendly. Would recommend highly but it's not the cheapest hotel. However as it is in the same price bracket and location as the Panari I would like to say that the Boma beats this competition by a mile

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very good hotel on the outskirts of Nairobi. Security prominent. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Staff are most helpful. The hotel is owned by the Red Cross and all profits are directly paid to them (after payment to staff and running costs).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAHFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Our check in at Boma was delayed by 1 hour. - not sure where the problem was but we'd booked and paid for an executive suite and this took a long time to sort out. Eventually we got the suite we'd paid for and it was very comfortable and well appointed. The executive lounge, which was included in the price, had NOTHING in it - no food or drinks at all. Don't know why they even had it. The hotel has a bit of a clinical feel about it. Looks like it's set up for conferences more than anything else. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was "old style" five star rather than innovative. Everything was done correctly but without much understanding of what the customer was looking for. Biggest issue was our last night. Had booked for the Tamarind Restaurant in Karen - one of the best known restaurants in Nairobi. Told the concierge where we needed to go and he sent us in one of the hotel approved cars. The driver had no idea where the restaurant was and we ended up spending 2 hours in the car before insisting he take us back to the hotel. This should have been a 20 minute trip. Really spoilt our last evening in Africa. To top this off they still included the car charge on our check out bill. it was only when the very helpful Guest Relations manager came over that they removed this charge from our bill. Although I think they should have comped our dinner as well given that they had spoilt our special night.

if I was returning to Nairobi I would use the Boma as a very well run business hotel. But I would definitely not stay here when on vacation. One of the lovely hotels / guest houses around Karen would be much better for this purpose.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SurferPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l.a.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful structure, located near the airport, but not particularly user friendly. Poor directions and zero signage to second floor gym and sauna facilities - which were hidden down a series of side staircases and long corridors. Tho clean and modern and impressive, it lacked the welcoming warmth of human hospitality that I enjoyed elsewhere in Kenya, perhaps the price of its ambience of prestige (which I'd readily trade for warmth and hospitality when traveling abroad). Also, its location, which is convenient to the airport, means it is stranded in a commercial/Industrial area with nothing to see or do within walking distance. Were it not for the need to access the airport, I'd sooner stay at Stanley where staff worked hard and persuasively to make me feel truly welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is easily accessible & near Mombasa rd. We had a great experience here. The rooms are large clean & very attractive. the staff is very well groomed & professional, Food very good, excellent room service, Free Wi-Fi, very nice buffet... the list is endless.....keep it up

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ugie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

British Airway put me up here when our flight was cancelled. The hotel efficiently handled around 60 of us at midnight. Bravo.
The rooms are large with a couple of Queen Anne chairs and desk with an ergonomic chair. WiFi is included. The restaurant has above average food. Buffet for breakfast and lunch.
The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing