We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Warm and competent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and competent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The Boma hotel provide a luxurious and safe base while in Kenya. I visited for the second time for work and felt warmly welcomed back by the staff. The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, a complete gym and three western-style restaurants. The breakfast (included) is truly exceptional for any hotel around the globe.

If you are hankering for something a bit more authentically Kenyan, you can go across the street to the Motor Club and have barbecue or to the Boma Inn (in the same complex) for ugali and stew.

The staff were nice to my 11 year old son who was visiting with me. We also were able to safely leave our bags there throughout our trip, as we went on other adventures. Overall, very nice!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    157
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
68
118
39
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After 3 weeks travelling around Africa doing treks and safaris, The Boma was just what we needed at the end. Greeted at the door with hot towels and mango juice set the standard and the staff and management never let it drop after that. Nice pool area, nice restaurants, nice bar, nice rooms. Great hotel. Security was high level. I'd definitely recommend the Boma and I'd definitely stay there again if I was back in Nairobi.

Bryan, Ireland

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozimboa Da Praia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good hotel with courteous staff. Highly professional.
I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.
Not too far from the airport to avoid heavy traffic on your way to and from airport.
Nice restuarant with varieties of food from local to continental dishes.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel Omotun... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel which is very clean and nice. I struggled to sleep though due to the loud noise from the nightclub which I assume is nearby/next door?! Not very impressive. Also the shower was very dangerous......would be cold one second then would go boiling hot the next repeatedly done this

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Whether its a boutique hotel or a big hotel you are looking for, The Boma is the the place to stay. This was my second visit to the Boma, the first for 10 days in June, and again 3 weeks in July.
I was greeted by name on my return and throughout my stay i was made to feel special, this is the way they treat all guests.
The service is uncomparable. From Fredrick from housekeeping who notes the side of the bed one sleeps on, and turns down that side at night, to the dining staff a.o John, Charles and Kenneth. When they realised i enjoyed Mango and Passion Fruit for breakfast, they made an extra effort to arrange it. Nothing was too much for Janet and Angelina at guest relations. When i became ill and lost my appetite, George from the restaurant specially bought some marmite.
I ate mostly in the Johari restaurant, and thought i would tire of the food after 3 weeks, but the evening menu changes daily and one has the option to order from the Thembo menu in the Johari. The salad selection is vast, always fresh and changed daily. The swahili style prawns, corn fed chicken and salmon are some top recommendations.
The gym is well enough equipped for my needs and is quiet early in the morning. They offer evening classes, but I didnt get to try these.
I had a room on the 8th floor, although it was not a suite it was very spacious and comfortable with an extra length king size bed, desk and chairs. I could sleep with the window open and hear the fountain below, away from traffic and other city noise. You would never guess that you are so close to the airport and just off Mombassa road
I have stayed in another large hotel in Nairobi, which is often recommended by others, but they have not stayed in The Boma.
Thank You to Mr Baraza all at The Boma.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eliska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

All profits of the Boma go to fund Kenya's Red Cross Society. We organized a three day meeting in July with conference and residential needs FOR AROUND 50 PEOPLE. All in all excellent experience, with polite, service-oriented staffers all round. F&B was good standard, as also other services such as housekeeping, laundry, and the business centre.
The spa however is a RIP-OFF. I had booked a massage before my departure and was quoted KShs 4K for the massage. However was billed KShs 7.5 K under the pretext that the therapist had used branded products. I was not informed or consulted.
So use the hotel - a nice place to be. BOYCOTT THE SPA - AN UNETHICAL, RIP-OFF.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisvinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepastore, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Besides the fact that at The Boma All profits fund the Kenya Red Cross Society’s Humanitarian activities I was impressed by the kindness of the people that work at The Boma!!!

Is the best place in Nairobi with a classy European Coffe and Cappuccini!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good i would probably avoid the first floor!! Internet is quiet good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiAz3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing