We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class”
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at this superb hotel. Security was excellent, staff very courteous and helpful. Rooms very nicely appointed. The hotel has only been open for about a year and a half, but everything seems to be humming along nicely. The main restaurant (breakfast) had a nicel selection of items, and what we had was delicious. We also had lunch and dinner in the Bistro, which also offered a nice selection (highly recommend the avocado/grilled prawn salad) of eats. The airport is close to the airport, so getting there was no problem. If one wants to go for a walk-about, I'm not sure where I would go. Didn't look like there were any sights close by. My wife enjoyed the the spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    200
    40
    17
    4
See reviews for
82
141
45
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Boma after landing in Nairobi, and it was the perfect place for us to rest and get ready for the rest of our trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and the buffet was excellent. My two sons were very entertained by the pool and the robotic lawn mower. There is not a lot in the area, but we felt like all of our needs after a long flight were well taken care of within the Boma.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at two different fabulous hotels in Nairobi. The Boma is beautiful, modern, excellent service, good buffet, close to the airport. I had the sense that the hotel is a bit remote and that there was nothing walking distance. So if you're just going in and out of the airport, this is a great place to stay. If you want to visit the city, I am less sure this is the place to stay. While we didn't take time to explore, the hotel provides a comfortable setting, a great place to rest after 24 hours hours of travel from the US. It has the added plus of benefiting the Red Cross. (For info on the second hotel, see my review of the Nairobi Serena Hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StartingFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I still remember this visit like it was yesterday. It was a very clean hotel, not sure because it is still new but I loved the service as well.

It has a great gym and the breakfast buffet is great.[though if you stay there for a long time it gets boring]

I can still remember the lamb chops that I had once for dinner. Highly recommended. It is very close to the airport is a lovely get away from the noisy Nairobi environs.

The view from the 8th Floor was breath taking.

It is definitely recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated between Nairobi International Airport and the domestic Wilson Airport. You don't have far to go along the incredibly congested Mombasa Road that leads into the city, before you turn off onto a side road. The hotel is new and very elegant. Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Free Wi-Fi in rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Best bet for those beginning or ending a safari.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here on a stop-over to Juba, which makes The Boma ideally situated between the airport and the CBD city centre; just like a few more hotels.... What differentiates The Boma from those (and I stayed in all of them) is that here you get quality for money: decent prices (for African purposes), attention to detail, true five star trappings and friendly staff. Surrounding area so-so, but the rooms are very spaceous and clean, good shower power (always a challenge in NBO) and
excellent beds...and everything works, no TIA-stuff thus.. :-). This will be may new stay-over place in NBO.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were here overnight on our way to a safari. Excellent in all regards. Clean, friendly, comfortable and highly recommended for anyone passing through or staying in Nairobi. Room service was prompt even at 1am!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,131 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 164 in Nairobi
1,270 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing