We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I still remember this visit like it was yesterday. It was a very clean hotel, not sure because it is still new but I loved the service as well.

It has a great gym and the breakfast buffet is great.[though if you stay there for a long time it gets boring]

I can still remember the lamb chops that I had once for dinner. Highly recommended. It is very close to the airport is a lovely get away from the noisy Nairobi environs.

The view from the 8th Floor was breath taking.

It is definitely recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 681 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated between Nairobi International Airport and the domestic Wilson Airport. You don't have far to go along the incredibly congested Mombasa Road that leads into the city, before you turn off onto a side road. The hotel is new and very elegant. Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Free Wi-Fi in rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Best bet for those beginning or ending a safari.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here on a stop-over to Juba, which makes The Boma ideally situated between the airport and the CBD city centre; just like a few more hotels.... What differentiates The Boma from those (and I stayed in all of them) is that here you get quality for money: decent prices (for African purposes), attention to detail, true five star trappings and friendly staff. Surrounding area so-so, but the rooms are very spaceous and clean, good shower power (always a challenge in NBO) and
excellent beds...and everything works, no TIA-stuff thus.. :-). This will be may new stay-over place in NBO.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were here overnight on our way to a safari. Excellent in all regards. Clean, friendly, comfortable and highly recommended for anyone passing through or staying in Nairobi. Room service was prompt even at 1am!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If it is Five Star service you want, then The Boma in Nairobi is it.

Located along Red Cross Road off Mombasa Road, this magnificent new hotel offers fantastic spacious rooms with all the modern amenities required of a Five Star hotel. My room was on first floor and I therefore did not need to use the lift. All my colleagues booked on other floors were also very pleased with their rooms, not just the size but the layout, the colours and the cleanliness.

Out of the four eateries of the establishment, I only managed to try out two, namely the Johari restaurant and The Atrium. Johari is an all-day dining restaurant located at reception level and offers a wide variety of food choices. The Atrium (my favourite) is an all day coffee bar situated off the reception area and serves a wide variety of menus of exotic blends of tea and coffee with super-delicious pastries. And the service was fantastic. I say this because it has been a while since I enjoyed good hotel service whether in Kenya or abroad, you know, service with a smile - a real smile. On my next visit, (for sure am going back), I am trying out the Tembo Bistro and the Cocktail Lounge.

Well, because nothing done by man is excellent, there was one really minor inconvenience. The shower in my room was pouring out very little water as the holes appeared blocked PLUS there was no soap-holder nor metal support WITHIN the shower cubicle. I would suggest that the shower cubicles be fitted with inbuilt space on the wall for holding soap/shower gel.

Another suggestion: Hangers should preferably be plastic as wood tends to chip and can harm one....as did happen to me.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for travellers on their way to or from the airport; people seeking REAL Five Star treatment or anyone visiting Kenya for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: If you are averse to using lifts like myself, ask for a room on first floor or the basement. The bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is located in South C in a residential area. For this reason it is only an escape and quite far. It is however a short drive to the National Park and Animal Orphanage as well as town. I mentioned this first so you realize where you will be based not expecting to walk out of the gate and into the wild. The hotel has an inviting and updated decor with ample parking and tight security. The hotel has 2 restaurants and high speed lifts to the rooms. Our suite was on the 6th floor. The full length ceiling to floor windows have a nice view of the pool and the surrounding areas. The room is well sized and has all amenities including an office area to work at.
The bathroom is well designed with a tub and a separate shower cubicle. The bathroom has a magnifying mirror, dryer, weighing scale, and all the bells and whistles of a good hotel. The minus side is there is a frosted window that has an obstructed (but still visible) view of the bathroom from the bed. While I understand its the new fad, I feel the bathroom should be a private place. Maybe you'll like it though.
The bed is huge and comfortable and there is a master switch right next to the bed to control the lights. There is a similar switchboard in the office area as well. There is a 32" tv with satellite channels. I found it small, maybe because my own tv is bigger. Still when you go all out, even the smallest "saving" seems like penny pinching. The floor is half carpeted half tiled and good quality. The hotel has wi-fi and in room dining. The food is pretty expensive and only so-so, nothing to write home about, but at least all the money goes towards charity.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumranbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were just passing by, so i cant talk about their accommodation.The restaurant is nice and cozy.The staff are friendly and pleasant.I cant recall the name of the staff who served us.He was great and went out of his way to even escort me because i dint know my way out.I think he is a trainee as he was wearing uniform different from the others.kudos to him and thanks so much!What i didnt get is how a hotel of that magnitude can have black forest cake and brown bread missing.Really?The washrooms next to the restaurant are poorly lit.Its good you have the seatcover disinfectant but i didnt know what i was to use to apply it to the seatcover.All in all, i would definetely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Imma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,189 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $114 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing