We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Money stolen from my safe...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Money stolen from my safe...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has a nice modern feel - probably the most modern in Nairobi. The staff are nice and the amenities (restaurants, pool, gym) are top notch. The views and general area surrounding the hotel could be better.

All of the positives above will forever be tainted in my mind because of what happened during my stay. To sum it up, some money placed in my safe was stolen. Upon arrival, I placed several new 100 dollar bills stacked together in the regular paper band in my safe and left my room for over 12 hours. When I got back, I opened my safe to do a count of how much money I had left. To my surprise it was short $200. I'm certain because I had had a similar incident occur at another hotel in Kenya (Sopa Lodge Masai Mara)... So I made a habit of counting my money frequently and I did so before placing it in the safe at The Boma. I immediately called security and told them what happened... they gave me the stupid 'we don't have access to the safe' story. Anyone with common sense knows that the hotel does have access to the safes, they have to in cases where the code can't be remembered by guests or when guests forget to unlock the safe before checking out. Anyway after admitting to having access, they said they would investigate to see who could have entered the room, other than housekeeping (the probable suspects). The following day (my checkout day), the head of security came to my room to give a report on the video surveillance tapes they had looked at. He said they apparently only looked at the period from when I arrived back in my room to discover the stolen money, till several hours in the future and saw nothing. How dumb is that? The money was stolen before that time period. Anyway after calling him out on the stupidity, he assured me that they would look into it further and get back to me as soon as they concluded further investigation. Till this day they never called or emailed me. I didn't think they would.

Anyway, I feel obligated to share my story so everyone is aware that hotels have full access to 'their' safes and the crooks that work there will open them whenever they get the opportunity. They are looking for a perfect situation like mine... They saw a stack of bills and pinched a few in hopes that I wouldn't notice. I'm left to wonder what else they would be capable of doing... Since they get to see all the personal items we put in their safes - passports, credit cards, etc.

Unfortunately, I won't get my money back, but I certainly hope what happened to me doesn't keep happening to unsuspecting people.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsanwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Tsanwo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in December 2013. It is unfortunate that any positives from your stay were overshadowed by the loss of cash from your room.

It is true we have a PDA that can be used to access safes in our hotel. The gadget is in the custody of our security manager and once it is used your original password will not work again until you call in for assistance. It is on the basis of this that our security team was almost certain that if you did not get any difficult in accessing your safe, then it was highly unlikely that someone had tempered with it.

That notwithstanding, we regret the poor way the whole issue was handled. I know how difficult and painful it was for you to write the review as it made you re-live an unpleasant experience. Although I do not have any facts to prove the loss or otherwise of your cash, I am willing to reimburse you for your loss. Please contact me and let me the most convenience way for me to do this.
Thank you.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    182
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
76
130
42
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were taken to the Boma for dinner after flying in from the Mara to Wilson Airport and prior to our overnight flight to the UK. The hotel looked a great place to stay but we only tried the Tembo Bistro where we enjoyed an excellent meal and drinks; when I checked the bill back in the UK on my Credit Card statement I was very pleasantly surprised at the cost £25 or $40, great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Berdewelle,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your brief visit to our hotel. The Tembo Bistro team is encouraged by your kind words and the rest of the Boma team is challenged hope for an opportunity to showcase what they can should you ever visit us again.

Regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The only reason we (me, my wife, and 15-month-old child) stayed at The Boma was because our flight out of Nairobi was delayed and British Airways put us up there for the night. Our experience at the airport had been exhausting, but staying at The Boma put a smile back on our faces. The service by all staff (concierge, check-in, restaurant) was outstanding and far exceeding typical standards in East Africa. Our room was spacious and luxurious-feeling. And our two meals in the restaurant, though mostly served in buffet style, were amazing. The quality of the food was excellent, the variety was impressive, and the staff simply insisted on doing all they could to make the experience pleasurable. I can't speak to the prices, since I wasn't the one paying, but I'd be thrilled to spend another night at The Boma should the opportunity arise again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello AmericaninTZ,

We are glad BA gave you an opportunity to sample our facilities and services. We hope we will be your hotel of choice should your travels bring you back to Nairobi.
Kind regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel tucked a few minutes from the airport and Nairobi national park.

Service was good, food was good, rooms were great and best of all, profits go to the Kenya Red Cross.

Would most likely return here

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesboham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello Charles,
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to your return as the team at The Boma is determined to offer you not just great rooms, but great service to match.
Kind regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my first stay here and was recommended by a colleague. It is close to the airport (20mins) and for 20 USD you can be collected by the hotel shuttle. Saves looking for a taxi. I had a lovely driver called Amos. Check in was a bit slow as the receptionist was not there but only had a 5 - 10 min wait and was then dealt with very efficiently by James. The rooms are beautiful and I cannot fault them. The staff are very friendly. I ate in the hotel and the chicken pizza was great. Brilliant breakfast buffet. Nice places to sit down and either work quietly on the free wi fi or read a book or have a quiet small meeting. Thank you Boma. Profits from this hotel group goes to the Red Cross movement so support it.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Gillian B,

We are greatly relieved that after a slow started, we managed to take good care of you. We hope to see you sooner than later as we would like if subsequent to your feedback, our interventions have had the desired impact on our speed of check in.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Boma Hotel is not far from the airport tucked away on a very secure property in lavish surroundings. The staff is warm and friendly for the duration of your stay . A special thank you to Titus , Jefferson and all the staff i fail to recall but who made my stay very special.

The food is perfect with a wide variety of freshly prepared delights from Breakfast to supper and every meal was delivered with the same high level of service and friendliness you come to enjoy

For a great business stay with large comfortable rooms and great wifi services the Bome is the way to go and add to that its profits go directly to the Red Cross

Happy stay Raymond

Room Tip: Take a costume as the pool is very inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Raymond E,

Thank you for your feedback.
Titus, Jefferson and the rest of the team are happy that you noticed and appreciated their effort in making your stay hustle free.

We look forward to your next visit.
Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Although a bit pricey, we were pleasantly satisfied with the service of The Boma. Upon our arrival in Nairobi, we proceeded to The Boma to leave our luggage for storage while we go on a safari. After a long haul, much to our delight, they not only allowed storage, they also allowed us to take a shower at their health spa, provided toiletries and fresh towels, even if we won't be checking in that day.

The rooms are spacious, the beds are of good quality. There was a fairly good spread of buffet breakfast. They also provided complimentary cake and sang for a birthday celebrant as well.

The hotel is located outside Nairobi City, some twenty minute drive to/from the airport, which was perfect place to stay while just in transit. Nairobi City's traffic can be really bad especially on a work weekday so it was wise to stay here.

The only drawback was the mosquitoes around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamwanderlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello iamwanderlass,

Thank you for your feedback.

The team at The Boma is encouraged by your kind words. On the mosquito menace, it is a challenge we are battling with due to the vast open grounds in our neighborhood. Apart from regular spraying, we have also introduced mosquito repellant wipes in an effort to reduce discomfort to our customers. We hope you will confirm on your return visit if the approach has yielded fruits.

Thank you and see you soon.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.5 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing