We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lost & Found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lost & Found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Friend had left behind his suit and returned to UK. Fearing a lengthy ordeal I took the challenge of picking it up. Delighted by prompt and effective service from Pascal and Esther.

Had a quick peak at a room as was being nosy - large and impressively appointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanzastat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    164
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
69
122
40
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location close to the airport and an absolute luxury hotel at a brilliant price. The staff can't do enough to help and the spa and breakfast is wonderful! Rooms were huge and very, very clean. Nothing bad to say at all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on two occasions, once on the way to Kilimanjaro airport which was a very short stay (from 11pm to 6am) and then on the way back where we spent a full day and night at the hotel.

Both times we availed of the airport transfers to and from the hotel which were great (Nairobi airport is a lot calmer than I expected!).

The check in was really smooth and the staff were so welcoming and helpful. They even arranged for breakfast to be open 15 minutes earlier than usual for us when departing so we could have something quick before leaving for the airport.

The food is really great. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and all of the meals we had at the hotel were wonderful.

The bedrooms are nice but not amazing, they are very spacious and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is slightly overpriced but, overall, it's a very nice place to stay and the staff and food really make it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We tried this hotel in December as we needed a place for one night after arriving from an international flight, and before a flight on safari. We wanted to avoid the traffic in Nairobi.

It was a great experience. We arranged for someone from the hotel to pick us up from the airport, as well as take us back the next day.

The hotel was excellent - new and well designed. The food was also very good.

The staff was really friendly and helpful.

We will definitely use this hotel again - it saved us a couple of hours sitting in traffic!

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. We were here for one night waiting for passengers. We arrived after flying through the night and were greeted by a breakfast feast the likes of which you would only find at the most prestigious hotels.

The rooms, service, location and food were all spectacular.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night after arriving in Nairobi before flying to our destination. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to be close to the airport. The rooms are very nice and clean. All of the staff was very friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was a very nice buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moseleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a 6 hour layover in nairobi and because of the fire we decided to get a room at a hotel nearby, we looked at eka, and decided on boma hotel. It was a very nice hotel and they picked us up at the airport. Room was very nice, and food was good. on our layover back we also came here for our 6 hour layover back and had dinner and hung out in the lobby. Only negative is they charge for internet even in the lobby area. If you are having dinner, they don't consider you a "guest" so we had to pay for internet on our layover back. but i would definitely recommend. With what you pay for the safari, it's definitely worth it to start it right if you have a long layover in nairobi. The hotel is like 10 to 15 minutes from the airport, and we had no traffic, both ways.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tourismexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing