We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“African Luxury for a Canadian Flight Crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“African Luxury for a Canadian Flight Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. We were here for one night waiting for passengers. We arrived after flying through the night and were greeted by a breakfast feast the likes of which you would only find at the most prestigious hotels.

The rooms, service, location and food were all spectacular.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    182
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
76
130
42
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night after arriving in Nairobi before flying to our destination. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to be close to the airport. The rooms are very nice and clean. All of the staff was very friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was a very nice buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moseleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a 6 hour layover in nairobi and because of the fire we decided to get a room at a hotel nearby, we looked at eka, and decided on boma hotel. It was a very nice hotel and they picked us up at the airport. Room was very nice, and food was good. on our layover back we also came here for our 6 hour layover back and had dinner and hung out in the lobby. Only negative is they charge for internet even in the lobby area. If you are having dinner, they don't consider you a "guest" so we had to pay for internet on our layover back. but i would definitely recommend. With what you pay for the safari, it's definitely worth it to start it right if you have a long layover in nairobi. The hotel is like 10 to 15 minutes from the airport, and we had no traffic, both ways.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tourismexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night before leaving Nairobi. The hotel is very well located for the airport, and they offer reasonably priced transfers to/from.

The twin room was a good size with plenty of storage, if required. There were also the expected facilities in the room such as tea/coffee making, TV, radio, magazines, toiletries. The bathroom was a very good size offering separate bath and shower, with good water power.

The restaurant was absolutely stunning. The choice of food on offer amazing.

This would make an excellent business hotel, but as a tourist I also found it met with all my needs for an average Nairobi price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and ate in the main resteraunt every night
Room and staff were great
Breakfast was great
Had the buffet and a la carte both great never got round to trying the lower resteraunt The Boma drivers were all great
Great for airport and industrial areas
and any profits go to the Red Cross And to cap it all they had the contestants for Miss Tourism Kenya there on the last evening
what can you say ---- GREAT

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SSBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had one night stay yesterday before going to Mombasa for deep see fishing. The hotel was good and room pretty nice. We were going to their restaurant on the ground floor and before we left the room we cold on the reception desk and asked for the evening housekeeping they said:"no problem!"
We had our dinner (chicken salad, seefood besque soup and seefood pasta with red wine) and when get back to the room there was make nothing.
That night I wasn't really sleep coz have got a seek from their food and should be in the bathroom a few times. It was really awful.. (I'm sorry) with a vomiting a few times.
And next morning I felt totally broken.
When I was checked out I said about seek on the reception desk. No even sorry, just a comment :" ohh.. Why? May be I had tried something new?"

Irina Ivanova

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrinaI7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

15 mins away from the airport. Avoid the traffic jam in Nairobi.
comfortable room but a bit cold at night in the hotel.
Services is average. Friendly but not efficient.
Good stopover for a night but not for long stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.5 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing