We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, very organised and clean. Service was impeccable. Good facilities including gym and pool, 2 bars and 2 separate restaurants. Rooms were spacious and everything was very comfortable. Location didn't seem to central to anything but at least is out of the main congestion for traffic and close to the Airport. Would stay here again if back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfreisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    202
    40
    17
    4
See reviews for
85
142
45
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Only here for one night between flights, but everything was super. We chose since it was much closer to Int'l Airport and still near some sights. Price was more than fare for the quality. There is an airport shuttle for only US$15, pick you up just outside baggage with your name addressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice spacious rooms, good facilities including a medium-sized rooftop pool. The food in the restaurant was really delicious, and breakfast was good too. Staff very friendly

Not much to do nearby but a quiet area with nice gardens and fountains around, and convenient for both airports. An excellent respite from the chaotic Nairobi traffic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cakegirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here on my way to the Masai Mara in late May purely based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and because they are owned and operated by the Red Cross. It's a nice new hotel in a sketchy neighborhood, but then it seemed that everywhere was sketchy.

Was picked up at the airport by the very friendly driver and that was very convenient and appreciated for my first time in Nairobi. It would have been a bit intimidating to have to take a taxi.

I was a bit shocked by having to be searched and have my purse and backpack searched in order to enter the hotel to check in, especially when I had been picked up by the hotel driver and delivered through the hotel security gate in the hotel car. That was my first ever experience of something like that but I guess it's for my own safety.

There were definite communication and service issues with the staff but I ended up speaking with the General Manager about it and they are really trying. I can't fault them for their efforts. They are dealing with training staff for an environment that is not typical of the area and they are focusing on training new skills and jobs which is admirable.

The rooms are really nice and contemporary and very spacious. Don't expect glamorous views out the windows here. You're not in the bush yet or in a shiny city.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and sufficient. There was a great variety to accommodate all the various visiting cultures.

I will stay here again when stopping over in Nairobi but I wouldn't want to stay more than one night at a time as you really need to just stay at the hotel once you're there given the location and neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My first stay at the Boma! Very nice experience. The Hotel is well located, relatively close to the Airport, out of the chaotic city traffic. The rooms are spacious, workable fast internet on free WiFi. The personnel is super efficient, friendly and professional. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stay in Nairobi, so my gf and I decided to get a couple nights rest somewhere else. We were at Boma the first night and regrettably Ole Sereni the second.

If I can compare the two, as they are both similar price range, fairly close (walk 10-15 min) and rated the same. The Boma is by far superior in services, amenities, cleanliness and the only reason I did not put 5 is that I found the pricing to be completely outrageous ($30 for a breakfast buffet... really...)

The room was big and beautiful, the bed was large and comfortable (not hard). They have large flat screen TV's, hook ups for your laptop (HDMI, Audio jacks etc). The bathroom was equipped with a double sink, large bathtub and separate large head shower with decent pressure. Although it was not always hot.

The pool was large though closes early.

We ate at the bar downstairs for dinner and breakfast. I must say it was absolutely delicious, may be one of the best burgers in Nairobi, their pizza was quite tasty also. This hotel deserves its rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and facilities are excellent. The rooms are spacious and very nicely fitted out. Staff is super friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The food is perfect. 15 minutes to Airport. I will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rami68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 165 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 165 in Nairobi
1,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 165 in Nairobi
794 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 165 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing