We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Boma - Nairobi, Kenya Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Boma - Nairobi, Kenya Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great staff, service, accommodation and facilities including Wi-fI and proximity to airport if you want to avoid traffic through central Nairobi. Its ideal for business travel. Highly recommend The Boma as one of the new star hotels in Nairbi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Raymond,
You have started our week on a high! Reviews like this motivate us to work even harder to ensure that the Boma delivers to its name.
Thank you.
Aggrey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    168
    32
    15
    4
See reviews for
71
125
40
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Here for a conference and the good was really good consistently over three days. Location is handy for the airport but getting into town can take a while in rush hour traffic. Rooms are of a very good international standard

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHANNESBURG_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Good day Johanneburg_XXX,
Thank you for sharing your views about out hotel and services. We are grateful for the opportunity to serve you and your colleagues and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a wonderful stopover for the day in this hotel, as a result of a technical delay in my connecting flight to Europe. The staff were very attentive and friendly. My room was extremely well equipped for the traveller or the business client. Buffet breakfast was excellent.The lifeguard (Albert?) was very helpful and took me on a tour of the spa and gym, which were impressive. Thank you for making my stopover less stressful. If I am ever in Kenya again I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Good day Valerie,
I hope you finally made it to your destination.
Thank you for taking the time to share your views about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your brief stay with us and Albert our lifeguard is elated with the recognition. we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here when in transit in Nairobi and the cab ride was 15 mins (night time) from the airport. My room was very luxurious and well-equipped. Free wifi was much appreciated. Comfortable bed and quiet, so I got a good night's sleep. The staff I met were charming and welcoming and I was very impressed by the buffet breakfast. Highly recommended for a stop-over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Tim,
Thank you for your feedback. Our team is excited and motivated by your kind words.
We hope to see you again soon.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Boma Hotel in Nairobi for just less than two weeks. It was a beautiful hotel and the room was lovely and spacious. Everything was very clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive, they always did a little extra than expected on a consistent basis. The breakfast buffet was lovely in the mornings in the buffet room or on the patio. I was most impressed with the honesty of the staff. I actually lost my iphone in a Boma hotel taxi, and when I returned to the hotel 5 hours later they had it waiting for me. On that note the Boma taxi drivers were lovely and I felt safe driving around Nairobi with them.

The thing I like most about this hotel is that it is run by the Kenya Red Cross, which means the profits go towards local community projects instead of to a multinational corporation like other luxury hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good day L.S.
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our team is encouraged by your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

great service. good location and nice ambience.
Not for vegetarians. limited selection. Nothing for vegetarians for the main course.
not value for money.
They need to cater for vegetarians.
mostly all the diners were attending seminars so that they must have catered for them.
i hope they cater for vegetarians and shall visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Raju21,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our buffet selection. Our Chef and his team have taken note of the lack of balance on the buffet and they regret that. While Chef Archie is playing around with vegetarian recipes, he is also flexible enough to accommodate any culinary challenge you may through his way.
Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to your return to The Boma.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a very leisurely lunch at this hotel on Saturday lunch time during our trip go Nairobi,the hotel is fabulous and the food the same.We had the most beautiful fish cooked to perfection and the portions were humongous,if you get the chance eat at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auburnaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good day Auburnaura,
Thank you for sharing the meal experience. It is gratifying to note that our offering met your expectations and we look forward to an opportunity to serve once again.
Kind regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing