We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful, at so many levels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, at so many levels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful, secure, and with an excellent staff well trained in meeting the needs of the guests. I was traveling alone, first time in Nairobi, and had searched online for a hotel that represented Kenya beautifully and was well liked by its guests. This hotel is a gem, with service as personal as a boutique hotel, and all the amenities of a first class luxury hotel. I spent 3 days the first time, and one on the true turn to Nairobi. It was a special part of my memories of my trip.

The front desk even arranged a staff member to be a driver guide for me to tour the places I most wanted to see in Nairobi, and at a significantly reduced cost over my safari tour company.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    164
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
69
122
40
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed the Boma en route to and from the wildlife areas. Staff could not have been nicer or more eager to help -- though some training still needed (e.g., some staff poured wine without letting me taste it first). Facilities generally very good, including an EXCELLENT gym. A few minor maintenance glitches (e.g., air con not working on one room) were swiftly resolved. Restaurants pricey but high quality. Will be back!

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, go for the slightly larger standard rooms on the side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Boma is only 10mins drive from Jobo Kenyatta International, so if you need a super comfy bed for the night for an onward connection in the morning, this is perfect. I travel to Tanzania a lot to guide clients on safari and always fly into NBO with BA. This is cleaner, more comfortable, more luxurious, with more friendly and efficient staff than the Intercontinental and you're not paying idiotic rates of the Norfolk. My one night's stay in a huge room was c.£120. If you want something in town, try The Fairview.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeepImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Red Cross owned and managed, with their HQ next door, 100% of their profits are supposed to go to the NGO. Closed to the airport (20 min), totally new, nice property.
A serious outsider to all the Classic choices of Nairobi (Sarovas and other hotels of the 80's charging almost the same price). Free and stable wifi.
Very efficient staff, spacious and modern room, nice bathroom, very good breakfast buffet, nice swimming pool for relax, and lots of options for dinner at the restaurant.
Recommended for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have now stayed at the Boma thrice since September 2012 and tried to post a review back then but some how the posting was lost due to a computer glitch. The hotel has certainly impressed both in the quality of it services and staff. Having stayed at other top hotels in Nairobi (including Serena and Sarova Panafric) and several other cities in other countries,
I believe the Boma will now give them a good run for their money and should be proud of its place in the industry.

The hotel staff stand out not just because of being polite (you'd usually get that at this level of hotel) but because they are FRIENDLY, RESPONSIVE and PROACTIVE. That's one of the reasons this remains my first choice after 3 business visits in 5 months, each lasting at least a week.

Moreover, you just cant beat 15/20 minutes to the airport if you have ever been in a traffic jam coming out from town. The food's very good and you have options. You have a shopping mall close by so you don't miss the city centre one bit. You've got to give this one a try! Bravo Boma!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Victor,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boma for your last three visits to Nairobi. We are indeed proud of making you our regular guest with our product and services meeting your expectations.

We are also delighted that our friendly and professional staff have stood out to ensure that we offer world class service to yourself and all our other esteemed guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward in hosting you on all your future visits to Nairobi.

Best regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had been to The Boma a few times before....for drinks mostly in the evening but that Sunday afternoon i decided why not bring my family over for lunch after church. We were seated at the restaurant right outside the basement parking. There we ordered chicken wings which were really nice! Unfortunately, that was it. The mixed grill we ordered was not the best, the chicken was dry as sawdust and not to mention...my orange juice had worms in it! Lost my appetite, totally. My parents were not amused and for the price we paid..it just wasn't worth it. Doubt I'll be coming back anytime soon. Otherwise, lovely ambiance and decor. Kindly improve on the quality of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

B for the Food-portion sizes could improve, it's never nice to leave a hotel hungry and maybe a little more variety. The chef has tried a few daring recipes...my humble advice? if you can't do it well, don't do it at all (Stay away from the black pudding pork chop monstrosity) A PLUS PLUS for service.one tiny little complaint attracted the immediate attention of the manager who was incredibly professional and truly did bend over backwards to help. Boma sets the standards in service and that's why i'd go back, despite the so-so food. Keep it up

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanifAbaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing