We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely property....very wanting in food sector” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely property....very wanting in food sector”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had been to The Boma a few times before....for drinks mostly in the evening but that Sunday afternoon i decided why not bring my family over for lunch after church. We were seated at the restaurant right outside the basement parking. There we ordered chicken wings which were really nice! Unfortunately, that was it. The mixed grill we ordered was not the best, the chicken was dry as sawdust and not to mention...my orange juice had worms in it! Lost my appetite, totally. My parents were not amused and for the price we paid..it just wasn't worth it. Doubt I'll be coming back anytime soon. Otherwise, lovely ambiance and decor. Kindly improve on the quality of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    182
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
76
130
42
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

B for the Food-portion sizes could improve, it's never nice to leave a hotel hungry and maybe a little more variety. The chef has tried a few daring recipes...my humble advice? if you can't do it well, don't do it at all (Stay away from the black pudding pork chop monstrosity) A PLUS PLUS for service.one tiny little complaint attracted the immediate attention of the manager who was incredibly professional and truly did bend over backwards to help. Boma sets the standards in service and that's why i'd go back, despite the so-so food. Keep it up

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanifAbaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had never heard about this hotel in Nairobi close to the JKIA airport.

I spent only one night there when my flight was canceled but believe me I wish I could have stayed longer.
The staff is amazing, the food is exceptional, the rooms makes you feel better than home.

The limited choice of TV channels push you discovering the nieghbouring park that you can see with binoculars from the upper terrace of the hotel.

Perfection.

Congrats

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatungyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Boma hotel is the place to be in so beautiful,i was there with my family for two weeks and we realy loved the place, services,food ,room,pool and gym all where just great the security and the car services was fantastic staffs where also so friendly,professional and nice people thums up to the Boma i miss the place.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a one month old hotel, beautiful all over, service, food, pool, free wi-fi, my room was a junior suite for the price of a single room, all the amenities you expect from a luxury hotel. Very close to the airport on Red Cross road. The shower is spectacular, good and firm beds, Food is great, buffet or at la carte is great. Breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner buffets cost around US$ 40 each with soda or water included and without tips. They have a nice terrace as well where you can have your meals. You will like it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for what I heard from my 10 companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Purely amazing! Great security, fantastic food (ate at both Tembo bistro and lobby cafe), very professional staff, fine service. Certainly a world class exemplarary +5 star hotel! Hotel car available within minutes of request. Handy location for airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maanxt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Maanxt,

Greetings from the Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the Tembo Bistro and Atrium Cafe; and that our team served you with the utmost professionalism not forgetting to ensure your safety is secured.

We are happy that our transport service was availed to you on time and it was efficient. Our pride is in ensuring that all our guest's needs are availed on time and in a professional manner.

We welcome you back at the Boma for your future visits and we hope in making the Boma your second home while in Nairobi.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here overnight while in transit after finishing and overland trip through East Africa. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. This was in stark contrast to the hotel where our tour ended and for nearly the same price the Boma offered luxury, style and comfort. The perfect place to join civilization again after 3 weeks in a tent! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very modern. The hotel itself is spacious with the same modern decor and the buffet breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and hot dishes. It is a little removed from the city centre, but, the proximity to the airport lets you avoid Nairobi's notable traffic on your way home. Overall, this was an absolutely wonderful hotel and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ren22can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.5 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing