We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kengeles Lavington Green

Kengeles Lavington Green
Lavington Green Shopping Centre, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
2540202587343
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend of mine. The place looks like it could do with some tlc. My salad was fine but my friend had chicken which was inedible. The waitress was gracious enough not to charge for the chicken.

Kengeles used to be such an institution in Nairobi it is sad to see it start to run down. The outside was dark and the floor full of cigarettes as it is the smoking area.

A shame as there aren't too many places around Lavington for a quick lunch with the traffic now days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlammerKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    22
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its a pub 1st.A sports venue 2nd and A restaurant restaurant 3rd..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was average. Dont expect much and you will be satisfied throw back a beer and its fine. I wouldn't, come here just for food again. But if I was watching rugby I would eat and enjoy.. Some interesting items on the menu that sounded exciting with exotic flavours. But just turned out to be average. This place does not deserve the bad rating it has but its nowhere in the league of a "fully loaded" at karen coffee gardens, another (exceptiona)l sports pub in nairobi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dark pub....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

II have been eating there more than ten times in the past two week.is walking distance from where I live and work.
I vegetarian... so just two choices, pizza margherita and gazpatcho.
at night became too dark, not enough lifts to walk...
Friday and Saturday live music.
nice place for football lovers.

staffs have been very gentle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice place rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like the place n decided to have dinner there. Sat in the smoking area since i wanted to see the live ban. Ordered a drink and food n while waiting for my fo6 noticed about 50 cigarete buts nxt to my seat n waved down a waiter. I asked her to have them picked up n she answered that i should have sat at the non smoking area n it wasnt her work to get them off . Decided that they got someone to clean or i leave my ordered foo. At that point someone camd to clean. There r no ashtrays on the tables n all th

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meg njoroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambia R, Manager at Kengeles Lavington Green, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Meg. thank you for your comments. If possible do you have the name of the staff member? We will make a concerted effort to keep the place tidier, it is unfortunate that the new smoking laws do not allow us to encourage smoking, hence no ash trays. Our bands commence this Thursday, a different one every Thursday, please come down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only if you are a sports freak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Kengeles is not a place for a romantic evening when you want to propose. Neither it is perfect for a business dinner to celebrate a $1M deal.

It is basic. The food is simple. The seating is not particularly comfy. The bathrooms remind me of Poland 25 years ago. The straff is gracefully indifferent (to put it mildly).

But if you are a football or rugby fan and you live nearby, it is the place to be. For big events make sure you arrive an hour or two before kickoff. It will be packed. 100%.

It is a fun place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambia R, Manager at Kengeles Lavington Green, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and encouragement for sports days! Hopefully the building will be completed soon and ease the traffic flow, after which we will back to business as usual! We have put in place a new menu, come and try! We wish you a Happy 2013 and look forward to seeing you! Let's get together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kengeles Lavington Green also viewed

 

Been to Kengeles Lavington Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing