We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place rude staff”

Kengeles Lavington Green
Ranked #76 of 692 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: African, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like the place n decided to have dinner there. Sat in the smoking area since i wanted to see the live ban. Ordered a drink and food n while waiting for my fo6 noticed about 50 cigarete buts nxt to my seat n waved down a waiter. I asked her to have them picked up n she answered that i should have sat at the non smoking area n it wasnt her work to get them off . Decided that they got someone to clean or i leave my ordered foo. At that point someone camd to clean. There r no ashtrays on the tables n all th

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meg njoroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambia R, Manager at Kengeles Lavington Green, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Meg. thank you for your comments. If possible do you have the name of the staff member? We will make a concerted effort to keep the place tidier, it is unfortunate that the new smoking laws do not allow us to encourage smoking, hence no ash trays. Our bands commence this Thursday, a different one every Thursday, please come down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Kengeles is not a place for a romantic evening when you want to propose. Neither it is perfect for a business dinner to celebrate a $1M deal.

It is basic. The food is simple. The seating is not particularly comfy. The bathrooms remind me of Poland 25 years ago. The straff is gracefully indifferent (to put it mildly).

But if you are a football or rugby fan and you live nearby, it is the place to be. For big events make sure you arrive an hour or two before kickoff. It will be packed. 100%.

It is a fun place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank otffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambia R, Manager at Kengeles Lavington Green, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments and encouragement for sports days! Hopefully the building will be completed soon and ease the traffic flow, after which we will back to business as usual! We have put in place a new menu, come and try! We wish you a Happy 2013 and look forward to seeing you! Let's get together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately Kengeles is not as inviting as would seem. The client has been neglected completely. Yes there is food but it is sir classed price-quality by other better performing spots. If there is a problem no one assumes responsibility. The atmosphere is unsavourably 'clique' which deters the arrival of new clientele. Sorry but there are no excuses for poor service - would rather stay at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambia R, Manager at Kengeles Lavington Green, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Kuzi, thank you for your comments, we have implemented a new menu and are working on staff training. There is always a Manager on duty and we will follow up on the issue of responsibility. We have some refurb plans for 2013, which will hopefully kick off soon! Let's get together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kengeles Lavington Green also viewed

 

Been to Kengeles Lavington Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing