We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a colonial”
Review of Exchange Bar

Exchange Bar
Ranked #71 of 573 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Description: History comes to life at The Exchange Bar, once the site of Nairobi's first Stock Exchange from 1954. In 1922, The Long Bar,the Stanley's precursor to The Exchange Bar, famously took delivery of the first ever order of Tusker beer from Kenya Breweries. The bar retains the feel of a traditional English Gentleman's club while exuding a casual elegance and warm atmosphere. A perfect place to enjoy a single malt whisky or sensational cocktails accompanied with a variety of bar snacks.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stop for a cold Tusker in the Exchange Bar on the first floor of the Stanley Hotel. Whatever you do, don't ring the bell over the bar (it means you'll buy a round for the house).

1  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Exchange Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's on the first floor of the Stanley Hotel. Originally served as the stock exchange of Kenya, hence the name. More of a social club or hotel lobby atmosphere than a typical bar. There is a full menu of "snacks". I ordered the fish and chips and my wife the hamburger. Portions were enormous, but the price signalled that. If you are staying in the hotel and are bored with the Thorn Tree Cafe then it is a good place to come get some different food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moominoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Moominoid,

Thank you choosing to dine at The Exchange Bar and posting your positive review.
Exchange Bar is rich in History and has a legacy of its own, we pride ourselves in offering superior beverages and high quality meals, hence, am glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good service, even though I was bought the menu once when I asked for a mango juice! Super hot piri piri prawns and ice cold beers, you can't say fairer than that. Lighting very dark so not really a place to relax with a book however.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnneandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Anne and Jonny,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to visit the Exchange Bar and review its services.
Despite the communication error, your comments regarding our “good services” have been greatly received and appreciated.
We shall ensure our beers are always chilled to perfection in preparation for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

a great bar in the Stanley Hotel. Central and a great place for a after business or pre-dinner drink.

Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear SA_Business_Traveller,
Thank you for choosing to visit The Exchange Bar and posting your pleasant review.
Your comments stating our bar as a great place for drinks is pleasurable to note, highlighting its convenient location within the Central Business District is another positive which we offer our customers.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice place to come reattached after becoming unhinged in the insanity that is Nairobi. Drinks are served with class, and the mixed grill was a delicious plate of meat that was a bargain at 1400 KSH for two. People watching here offers the best of Kenya's elite locals and the muzungo who float in and out.

Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Bugdocsea,
Thank you choosing The Exchange Bar for your dining experience and posting your positive review.
Exchange Bar is rich in History and has a legacy of its own, hence, it is a joy to note your food and beverage experience was one of “Class.”
Indeed, your observation that the Bar caters for both international travelers and local clientele is true, both have high expectations and we strive to satisfy and go beyond these expectations ensuring The Exchange Bar is the preferred networking venue within the CBD.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exchange Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing