We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance, courteous staff.”

Flame Tree Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 553 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, courteous staff.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As per the title Flame Tree has a good ambiance, courteous staff but the food quality is not at all consistent. A few weeks back we were in a group of seven, three ordered some chicken dish, one was good, one was very chewy and the other mediocre. So one one wonders the next time we go how the food will be. This is not the first this has happened. The waiter who served was apologetic about the food quality. The Panafric Hotel does tend to have conference meetings and when these are there, parking is a problem. Overall the Flame Tree Restaurant is good but the chef or whoever in charge of the kitchen needs to address the inconsistency in the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Lamb Chops !”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was very impressed by the meals at the restaurant. As a regular guest, I normally opt just for breakfast which is amazing. This time I had the opportunity to have two dinners and opted for the Molo Lamb Chops. They were just incredible and hence selected them twice,
The staff at the restaurant are exceptional and will go the extra mile to ensure your every whim and fancy is catered for,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly service but unexceptional hotel food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went here just to have dinner (we weren't staying at the hotel) and, whilst the service was very good indeed, the food really did just feel like ordinary hotel food. The prices, pomp and set up of the place promises much more than it delivers.
The cocktails weren't a bad way to improve the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peetkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
508 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Chewy lamb chops”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had otherwise very good impression about this restaurant, its only that the food was a miss this time. Lamb chops were so difficult to chew that it turned into a real nuisance + a tomato I got was a bit rotten I would say. Otherwise still a fine place - lovely deck to sit outside, you can also sit in the garden on the grass, music is perfect, and it was not loud at all this time. Great choice of freshly made juices (apple, beetroot, carrot, tomato, celery - only they did not have it this evening). A suggestion - add some more crackers on the cheese plate, please, thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty and Reasonable”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Large buffet I found difficult not to over eat at breakfast and loved the turkey and guacamole on a fresh baguette served with caramelized onions. For a restaurant in a better hotel, I found the food choices interesting, reasonably priced and tried something new every day. Staff are friendly, attentive and professional. A very nice change from lodge buffets!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFran4kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flame Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing