We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overpriced,over-rated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
Ranked #128 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced,over-rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

By far the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel

Positives
Location of the hotel is okay though most taxi’s find it hard locating the place
The breakfast is okay and the kitchen staff are friendly
Negatives
- Very unwelcoming receptionists though I must point out its one particular lady, the rest are fine and the night staff are exceptional.
- Made a reservation and yet when I arrived 1st time there was no room, 2nd the reserved room was not available and the final straw was the 3rd time where I was made to sit for 2 hours after 8 hour flight while they cleaned my room despite having made a reservation days in advance.
- The room was sub-standard, reeking of cigarettes and the toilet is forever breaking
- The shower head need replacing and the shower curtains just look unhygienic.
- They are currently constructing a gym right next to the outdoor restaurant/kitchen so be prepared for dust.
- The rooms are set up like apartments but with a kitchen that has no fridge or cooking utensils
- Noise levels from the construction
-
I wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay at this hotel as it’s expensive and the services they provide don’t match up to what you pay.

Room Tip: only stick to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luciouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We do apologize for the inconvenince caused as a result of a couple of issues you raised. Lantana being one of our recently opened Hotel, we had a slight challenge with some installations especially the plumbing unit in a few room. So far this challenge has been fully addressed and we promise hassle free stay next time.

We have taken note of your experience with the front desk.. The lady's attitude as well as the handling of your reservation especially on arrival and this has also been fully addressed according to our standards.

The construction of the Gym, conference facilities and the swimming pool is nearly complete and be assured of no dust in the rooms.

Since the facility is actually a hotel, we prefer not to equip all the room kitchens with the cooking utensils but we ensure a fridge in the rooms. Though We provide the cooking utensils upon request.

However, We are evaluating the option of fully equiping the kitchenette. We look forward to hosting you soon in a hassle free environment guarantee. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & development manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
3
3
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was booked by organizers of a workshop I was to attend to stay at Prideinn Lantana...and if I'd known what I would get, I would have begged to stay elsewhere. NO hot water (and at the height of winter in Nairobi...), freezing cold room, set up like a flat but no cooking facilities or fridge. Food at the restaurant was terrible, and the taxi drivers called to take me places over-charged (I have spent a lot of time visiting Nairobi over the past 12 years). Day time staff had a "laissez faire" attitude, though some of the night staff were super, going out of their way to help with internet access, trying to solve the (non-functioning) hot water heater. Oh, and zero in the way of exercise facilities. If you can stay elsewhere...do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTLilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We fully understand your experience and Management do apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused. All the water heating system has been improved and fresh intallations fitted including solar power.

As you mentioned, most of our staff are super and we are stopping at nothing to ensure all the staff match our expectations as per the set standards. A new chef has now taken over the kitchen and currently doing wonders.

Am sure you would like to give us another chance. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This list itself as a 3 star hotel. I stayed at Lantana Location--was not close to 3 star. Room was small and very average. Bed very hard--though big. Water bottles were smalllest I have ever seen. Did have cable and flat screen TV--probably only thing close to 3 star.
Bfast was okay--but other meals tried there was below par. More like Motel 6 in USA. Third location (Raptha Rd) my friend stayed out was much worst. His TV was old box type and whole room needed updating.
I think main hotel on Westlands Rd may have been better. Price was high for value. Charging 9K ksh per night for this. Did move me to like suite after I complained, but first 4 nights was this tiny room. Will not stay there again for that price or anything close to that. Worth 3K.

Room Tip: Make sure if you go here that you get suite--but try to avoid. Much better hotels for that price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Simba22, Management appreciate your time and review. We regret to learn that you were unhappy with a few amenities especially the size of the room and 3 star requirement as you found them. You will be glad to note that we have carried out major engineering in the rooms and currently, we are about to complete a heated swimming pool, conference facilities among other amenities.

Kindly note that we do have a number of room types and they all vary in sizes as well. A superior room that you were booked in, could be smaller than the one and two bedrooms of which they are more. Lantana basically is a suites hotel and therefore, the size of the rooms was highly considered.

We promise to upgrade your reservation next time you stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First off, you must know that there are THREE hotels in Westlands alone by the name of PrideInn - I can only speak for one of them 'Pride Inn Lantana Suites'. The Suites are actually full apartments, you get a kitchen, a full bedroom a bathroom and a lounge. However, the kitchen is not equipped and does not even have a kettle therefore negating the value of the facilities. (sad - but the addition of a kettle would have been sensible, bed and breakfasts can manage a kettle - am sure an apartment should be fitted with one). The Suite is very pleasant, and relativly clean - there is some additional work that needs to happen on the cleaning front - as ones feet are left very very dirty if you walk around your apartment without shoes. Also - there was pubic hair around the bath when I arrived, in addition to this NONE of the drains drained, which meant showering in ankle deep dirty water. Although the infrastructure is good, and these have the possibility of being actually very nice - more needs to be done on the service side. This is worth a stay - and it was comfortable - but some things to be aware of. The restaurant is VERY slow - order ahead.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the top floor - if you are below any one - it is very noisy - as you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Prideinn Hotel Lantana would like to take a chance to invite guests who were particularly unhappy with our services during their first time to revisit our hotel. We assure our guest that Prideinn Management was particularly concerned about the complaints and we have taken a string of new measures to ensure improved quality of service. Our staff have been trained on better customer handling techniques, we now have a fully functioning 24 hours front office desk to handle all guest queries within the shortest time possible, we also have a young, intelligent and enthusiastic hotel manager whom will not go to sleep until all the guests in the hotel are fully settled.
We would also like to ensure our guest that in case of any complaints and investigations confirm the complaints then the guests would be refunded 50% of the amount paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Raphta Road Location: I booked a group of visiting colleagues here since it is close to our offices. The customer service was terrible and the rooms were very dilapidated (water leaking all over floor), especially considering the cost. They underbooked rooms for the group, and put four women into one room even though we had booked two per room.
When they sent the invoice to our office, it was a mess of paper and full of mistakes.
Additionally, my colleagues and I had lunch here one day. When they brought us the bill, they had added on several additional things that we did not order. The food isn't terrible, but I am fairly certain as it contains MSG.
The second time I ate here, both my friend and I were sick the next day.
I would not recommend staying here or eating here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRaberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable encounter you had close to a year ago.

However, Your remarks met our plans to improve the standards of some of the rooms that had leakages as you mentioned.

Since then, we have not only improved the room status, but also added more rooms. We now have new menus in place and qualified
Chef and policy to guide the kitchen on organic products consciousness.

Mostly, MSG is used in Chinese cooking and I Am sure the meal you had, was from Chinese cuisine. Today this has been substituted with
normal salt, Not unless the guest specify MSG, we do not encourage the use though it is key in Chinese cuisine recipe.

The restaurant management has so far been reviewed and heavy investment in staff training. The Hotel was initially registered under a different
company and today it runs under the brand of PRIDEINN HOTELS & CONFERENCING. We believe in 5 star service though we are 3 star establishment.

With consideration to your views, I would like to encourage you to pay us a visit and find out how useful your review has been to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#131 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
#120 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nanchang Hotel
Nanchang Hotel
#68 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
#54 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Property: PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
Address: East Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate hotel that offers guests with discretely luxurious location on East Church Road in the Westlands district. PrideInn Lantana is all ensuite that provides a separate living room, dining room, kitchen and bedroom, and are equipped with Wireless high speed internet, Direct Dial Telephone and home entertainment center with a 42 flat screen TV. DISTANCE • 3.1kms from Westlands business district • 22kms from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport • 3kms from Nairobi Railway Station CLIMATE • Warm days: Average 24° C • Cooler nights: Average 12° C • Cold months: June – July • Long rains: March – June • Short rains: October – December ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing