We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for quick stays; convenient to airport with delicious breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for quick stays; convenient to airport with delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed at the Eka Hotel for two nights, once at the beginning of the hotel and again at the end. It was a quick 15-minute drive to the airport (barring traffic, of course), and both stays included a delicious hot breakfast. Though breakfast technically opened at 6:30, we had no trouble eating at 5:30am or 6am to be on time for our morning flights. Rooms were comfortable.

Internet was poor in the room, perhaps because we were at the basement level. We had much more success in the lobby. And though the breakfast in the main restaurant was delicious, we wouldn't recommend the 'steakhouse.'

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Sierra,

Thank you for taking time to outline your review of Eka Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I have shared your feedback about internet to our team who will have it fixed to ensure your next stay is even better.

We hope to host you soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    263
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
69
125
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

i found the hotel staff pretty helpful and nice. However it s quite weird for a hotel to force the guest to log on into internet every 10 min. If you are on a business trip like me, just avoid that hotel. One of my colleague who spent few nights a month ago in that hotel did mentioned this issue but it seems that the hotel management is not reactive or doesn t care.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doudoubisous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Doudoubisous,

Thank you for your outline of Eka Hotel. We have noted your comment about the internet. There was a technical issue and is being resolved by our IT team to ensure a great ad memorable stay in your next business trip.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The hotel is well situated near the airport which is very convenient to travelers . situated at quiet place with the state of the art facilities to meet international standards making it outstanding in terms of quality and is good .services are so efficient and staff are so friendly and have good public relations. Its nearness to the International airport makes it very accessable to the whole world since Jomo kenyatha Airport connects Africa and the whole world.Beside being closer to the international airport it EKA is close to Nairobi national park

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryphine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Tryphine,

We are delighted you have posted online your review about your excellent experience at Eka Hotel.

You are more than welcome to stay with us again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Staff are excellent but that is all, beds in the rooms you might as well sleep on the floor, it will be just as comfortable, internet slow and you have to keep logging in ever 5 minutes, Food very very overprice in the Hotel not value at all. A very big splash pool at the hotel. Not a very good hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at Eka Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve service offering to all our guests.

We have noted and your comments about the internet and food. Our team is looking into the issues with the aim of addressing them so as to ensure your next stay is memorable.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

A lovely new hotel, excellent and I don't say things lightly. Service from our arrival, the security was thorough, the front desk reception check-in was smooth and painless, having arrived in after 18hours of flying! Lovely rooms well decorated. Pillow menus. Power points were well appointed, with free WIFI! Very organised. Gorgeous Overhead shower which took out all the kinks from travelling! Polite and friendly staff. Sumptuous Kenyan Breakfasts. Well done EKA hotel. I look forward to returning again with my groups.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bhavs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Bhavs62,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the compliments to the Eka Hotel team. We shall pass this on to them to confirm that their tireless efforts are not in vain.

Please stay again with us when you return to Nairobi.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our stay was courtesy of British Airways, whose outward flight from Nairobi had been delayed, so I cannot comment on the costs. We were, however, impressed with how well the staff responded to the sudden influx of tired travellers from the airport some 15-20 minutes away. They were efficient and very pleasant. The hotel is fairly new and situated on the main road to the airport, though sound screening is pretty good. Rooms are small, but well equipped with a notably good shower (though, curiously, no conditioner) and air conditioning. The whole hotel is very clean, There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. The central reception/lounge/dining/bar area is compact, but attractively furnished. There is also a very nice swimming pool and terrace/garden area at the back of the hotel, just the place to relax. The breakfast buffet was good. For dinner, we chose the Spur outlet on site rather than the main dining area. Spur serves good fast food (steaks, burgers, fish and chips etc), again with excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Jasperco,

We want to thank you for your nice and positive review.

Thank you for your feedback as it keeps us more focused to consistently improve our services.

We appreciate taking your time and look forward to welcome you soon.

Very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Chose this hotel on a business trip to Nairobi. A very nice and quite hotel.Its pretty new. The staff are very helpful .
its about 10-15 minutes from the airport ..well situated ...its just outside the city and close to business district
its also very close to the Nairobi National Park , which can be reached in about 30 minutes from he hotel
another good deal with the hotel is The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel. This is a very good restaurant for meat lovers with a good mix of stakes and burgers . All enjoyed with a good bottle of Tusker
Breakfast buffet is a decent spread ...nothing to rave about ...but you can always survive on good toast and made to order omlett

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Amit S,

We are delighted you have posted online your review about your great experience at our property.

You are more than welcome to stay with us again in your next business or leisure trip. We assure you of the same quality service at all times.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#42 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, ETB, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing