We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Secure”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here before and after our safari and would definitely stay here again. The hotel room and entire hotel were very clean. It was quiet as well. One of my favorite features was the shower which was large and had the rainfall type of fixture. This hotel is very modern and comfortable, service is friendly and efficient. It is on the outskirts from the central district, but very convenient to the airport. The beds were good, there was television and free Internet in the room as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Susan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eka. We are glad to know you had a good experience at our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world and we look forward to hosting you in your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Eka Hotel Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 835 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Close to the airport and quite new, this modern hotel is great if you're getting into Nairobi late or leaving early in the morning. Only downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a separate door. The shower and toilet each have smoked glass doors so you have limited privacy.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Reisenfreudige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Reisenfreudige,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

First time to Africa, had no expectation. It turned out to be pretty decent , like a typical 4 star hotel in a developed country. What was great is that the hotel is New , and usually new rooms work wonders for me as I have a thing against old rooms, even if 5 stars. It will be a comfortable stay. Food is so - so ( buts its Africa right) and a nice looking pool. However Nothing nearby , then again were you thinking of walking around the streets? Its also near the National Park and that is where most people are headed.

Room Tip: Don't face the road, it is apparently quite noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treetop193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just arrived from this hotel from attending the GRI. Africa summit . I didn't explore the whole hotel but my views are on the areas I utilised .

Room

Rooms are cosy and very well laid out , the bed is however the hardest I have slept on in my travels , didn't enjoy the sleep quality.

Conference areas

I believe the hotel have some of the best conferencing facilities in town . Location was good , and food and staff were excellent .

Restaurant

Breakfast is very good with a lot of variety . Staff are excellent and always ready to help

Overall a good hotel , good value and will stay again if on transit

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear London 61,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Eka Hotel as this helps us improve our services.

I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perfect as a transit hotel. Close to the airport, no traffic issues. It's on the industrial stretch of the airport road so don't expect any East African charm here. The rooms are small but well laid out and clean. The pool and outside areas work, the breakfast is good and the buffets are decent. Make sure you book your taxi with the concierge 15-20 minutes before you want to leave - they tend to not have any on site. Service in general is ok - friendly but not that efficient. The Wifi is dreadful unfortunately - very slow. (Really good water pressure in the shower which is unusual in Africa.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear T-Africa2000,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay despite the internet mishaps.

We have shared your comments with our team and measures have been taken to correct it.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent a total of three weeks at the hotel and feel I got to know the real pros and cons of this hotel

Basically I was very impressed – the staff are all very friendly, accommodating and gave me not reason to be concerned about the troubles at the time of my stay (May 2014)

The food is excellent with a good range of different meals, accommodation great, but the real stars are the staff who took personal care of every detail !!
The only slightly bug bear was the

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear TimR_10,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay and have shared your compliments with our team.

Thank you and we look forward to being of service to you in your next business trip.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at the EKA twice heading to/from safari. It was an easy trip to both Jomo Kenyatta and Wilson Airports and avoids the congestion of downtown. Ate at both restaurants, both were excellent in terms of food and service. Enjoyed drinks in the bar and convenient shopping in the gift shop as we were just too tired to go elsewhere. Appreciated the spaciousness of the rooms and the rainfall showers. Had to leave quite early for our return flight and were happy that breakfast was available at 5 am. Rooms were very clean and had universal plugs. Every staff member was extremely nice. Wish we had brought swimsuits, the pool is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms making it convenient for our family.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Shannonadcock,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Eka Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#15 of 167 in Nairobi
1,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 167 in Nairobi
655 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 167 in Nairobi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $161 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing