We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$239
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
333
473
113
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
473
113
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportinternational airportmodern hotelmombasa roadspur restaurantan airport hoteljomo kenyattalong flightwilson airportovernight staystayed one nightfree wififelt safebetween flightsbuffet breakfastmasai maracomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 974 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We used this venue for a 2 day conference.
The staff are quite polite and friendly and made our stay very nice. The food is of excellent standard.
Driving up to Eka though, especially in the morning, can be a nightmare due to the heavy traffic on Mombasa Road. Otherwise it is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Adhiambo,

It’s nice to know you had a successful conference at Eka hotel Nairobi. It will be our pleasure to host you and your colleagues once again.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Was recently in Nairobi on a business trip and also transited through with overnight stays on two other subsequent occasions. The EKA hotel is between the airport and downtown.

it is a relatively new hotel and has a great restaurant bar as part of it, as well as another restaurant as part of the same complex which has awesome steaks!!!

The rooms were all of a good size with an interesting bathroom set-up. The bathroom was not a separate fully enclosed room but rather a shower cubicle and a toilet cubicle adjacent to a tiled area with the bathroom sink which was partially partitioned off from the sleeping area. Absolutely fine if traveling by yourself.

Service by the staff was excellent and we also used their bookable airport shuttle service for pick-ups and drop-offs for our transit stops.

Food in the hotel restaurant was great, breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice of hot, cold, baked, etc.

The next door steakhouse was also a great place to eat. Had an excellent steak dinner in there one night.

All in all, very happy we chose the EKA for our stay. It was recommended by our hosts and it did not disappoint. For a transit location, only 10 minutes from the airport so well located for those type of stays.

My only tip, make sure your room is down the passage, i.e a room number higher than 6 or else you might have some door banging as people enter and leave the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room half way down the corridor to get away from the corridor entry door.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear AI C

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at eka during or last trip to Africa.
Wonderful concierge and reception staff made this hotel a stand-out in Nairobi.
Close to the airport which was very handy.
A lovely buffet with a great selection (we didn't try the al la carte menu) for breakfast and dinner. And a dinner service period which goes quite late, which makes it ideal for those who come in late into the airport or get stuck in the infamous Nairobi traffic.
Overall a very nice hotel, with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeBignell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Joe,

Many thanks for your email and nice to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka Hotel.

We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope will give us another opportunity of service to you in the near future.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at eka hotel on my visit to kenya. The hotel is clean and up to standards. The food pork spare ribs was yummy. The local beer,"white cap and guiness" was what I needed. Service by waiter 'ian' makes me wanna go back. Kind, respectful and smiling while addressing you.
I deffinately will go back again duringmy trip to kenya..
Try it out you will love it. Moses

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Moses,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family/friends.

With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at the Eka Hotel in Nairobi on at least a few occasions now for business. The positives include the rooms, staff, and location (if you want to be on Mombasa Road or near the airport). The rooms are very polished. Compared to neighboring Ole Sereni, I give the rooms here a far superior advantage. The space layout is thoughtful and modern. As an example, the power ports at the desk include US, European, and UK plugs. The lighting in the room is also good. Staff is very friendly and welcoming - I've had numerous positive interactions with restaurant staff, front desk, and hotel drivers. Location is good if you need to be near the airport and are only here for a night. Outside of the central congestion in downtown Nairobi.

The pool area is also a very nice place to relax. The exercise room is a little small, there is only one treadmill and one or two other cardio machines (though I've never had to wait). The exercise space is larger at the Ole Sereni if that is important to you. (In fairness, the Ole Sereni shares its exercise space with a local fitness club so there are members there too).

The areas for improvement:
-noisy lobby. The lobby and common spaces are pretty much a shared space. When there are groups at the hotel (for dinner (i.e. local) or an overnight) it is hard to miss them and it feels like they 'take over' the hotel. I understand why the hotel has groups, so this is just a by product of how the public space was built.
-rooms in the basement are bad. The last time I was here (February 2014), I was put in a room in the basement (split level so I had a window). The window looked right out onto the parking lot and I received no reception on my Airtel mobile phone. I was asked to be moved after one night.

It would be good if the gift shop posted hours.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeybuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Sonya,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel. We have noted your comments on areas of improvement and we promise to make your next stay more comfortable.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews