We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #13 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived 4 hours late after a delay to our flight from Dubai. Our car made the short trip from JKIA and we were met by airport style security prior to a) our car being allowed into the grounds and b) us getting into the hotel itself. This is a sign of the times in Kenya alas. Friendly reception showed us to room which was fine for overnight but a view of a car park might not be great for any length of time. Excellent Shower in room (we never saw a bath in Kenya but I suspect that the demand on the infrastructure of the country is such that this is asking too much). Free Wifi- a good connection. Helpful staff though I just wonder if at times they are too helpful in performing services which are totally unnecessary in the hope of seeing a tip.
Dinner was in a reasonable and cheap steakhouse built into the hotel. Adequate breakfast served prior to having to get a pass from reception to allow you to leave.
At USD 275 a night this is way over the top for a hotel of this nature which I would regard as being slightly better than a UK Premier Travel Inn - GBP 85 (London) and 55 elsewhere in the UK- USD 140 and 95 respectively.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear FlyingDoctor,

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family in your next trip.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 851 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This well designed and modern property does exactly what it sets out to do -- provide contemporary accommodation near the Aiport and well placed for Businesses in Nairobi.Excellent Breakfast Buffet and all in all a good choice

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Leon,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at Eka many times and choose the hotel as its close JKIA and a good base for Wilson too.

Rooms are nice, restaurant is too and the staff and service are great.

The please can a be a little noisy at night depending on which room you're in. Avoid the entrance door to the corridor and you should be fine.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Leandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Leandro G,

Greetings from Eka Hotel.

We acknowledge and appreciate your comments about Eka Hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to another opportunity of service to you in the near future.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had one day of stay because of a delayed fight, The voucher paid for by the Airline. All though my stay was only for a few hours, and the expenses were covered by the Kenya Airways Voucher, all the staff cared about was money. There were continuous attempt to bill additional charges to me. At the meal table, i was asked for my voucher and the guy then disappeared.

This may be a closer to Airport, but with such bad service, please do not choose this one. It will be a wasted stay. food Options are pathetic, room layout is bad. Even bath robes are missing in the rooms. The bathrooms are created out of sheets of glass and seems like an after thought. Nothing positive to report about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deekshitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mark,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

We have noted your concerns and will ensure you have a better and comfortable experience next time. We look forward to being of service to you in future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you have business in Nairobi and need a quick and easy hotel near the airport, then this one is for you. The main advantage here is that you avoid the majority of the notorious traffic usually encountered in Nairobi but the downside is that the surrounding area has nothing to offer in terms of attractions or amenities such as shops or tourist attractions.
The hotel is new, clean and convenient. Staff are friendly and the service was good - including the restaurant and bar. I used the onsite Spur for room-service take away's on a number of occasions and the food was consistent and just what was expected.
All the rooms only have showers and mine had a king sized bed with the standard flat screen, coffee and tea, mini bar and work desk. The WiFi was free and reasonably fast, during my week long stay it was only down for a few hours in total.
Quick uncomplicated stay over - this is your place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next trip.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I chose the Eka hotel because of its proximity to the airport and its high level of security. I was in Nairobi for one night following a safari so did not have an issue that it was far from the city as I did not have time to explore. The room was comfortable although the WIFi was not great in the room so I had to come to reception to get a good connection. I used hotel transport to the airport the next day and even though we were close to the airport there was a major traffic jam and it still took some time. The driver did his best to get around the traffic where possible. While not cheap at over US$200 I was happy I chose the hotel for one night and would recommend if staying in Nairobi for a short spell.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Sonya,

Many thanks for your comments and nice to know you had an enjoyable stay at Eka hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity of service to you.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice & modern. Well maintained. The staff was nice and friendly. The reservation and check-in were handled by the safari guide that picked me up, so can't comment on either.
The room was clean and spacious. The hotel is located on a fairly busy highway. There isn't anything to do nearby / within walking distance without a car ( or so I felt :-)
I ate dinner at one of the restaurants in the facility. Pretty good. Looked like they had some kind of a dinner buffet available as well at the main restaurant. Think they also have a bar on site.
Breakfast was good. Lots of variety / made to order omelettes etc.
Overall it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear NC G,

Greetings from Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Nairobi.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#20 of 168 in Nairobi
1,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 168 in Nairobi
665 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 168 in Nairobi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
512 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 168 in Nairobi
1,043 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $161 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing