We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern hotel”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice and modern hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived at Nairobi Airport around midnight. Luckily this hotel is pretty close to the Airport. Very modern and comfortable rooms. Breakfast with lots of variety. When ending our trip we wanted to have one room just to rest and fresh up. But because we were a group of 10 (4 kids and 6 adults). We had to take 2 rooms, which made our 4 hour stay very expensive. :-(

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMichielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Marie,

Many thanks for your review and nice to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka hotel; we appreciate your outline of Eka and hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and friends in the near future.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    364
    104
    28
    22
See reviews for
107
199
59
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for an overnight before my safari and also took a day room before catching my flight home. Day rooms are available at half the usual accommodation rate for the hours 12h00 to 18h00, although you can arrange to keep the room for an extra hour or two for an extra charge.

Room was fairly compact but had all the required facilities, including a mini-bar, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Bottled water is supplied and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

The toilet and shower cubicle (no bath) are behind opaque glass doors, so you need to be well acquainted with your travel companion.

All staff were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English. On my second visit, I was remembered and welcomed back like a long lost friend.

There is a lounge, a bar, a couple of restaurants and also a Spurs on site with tables inside and out. Room service is also available.

As a single female traveller I felt totally safe here. There were always security people on the front door, and a security guard at the entrance to the accommodation corridor at night (which also could only be accessed by swipe card).

Bed was firm (not hard) and I had a good night’s sleep. Although the hotel is situated on the busy Mombasa road and is surrounded by construction sites, the room was surprisingly quiet.

The room may not be suitable for young children as the windows opened fully, with no restrictors.

The hotel will arrange transfers to JKIA at a cost of US$24. These were always punctual. It took 10 minutes from JKIA to hotel on arrival late at night, and 20 minutes from hotel to JKIA at 6pm in the evening. Whilst it may be cheaper to call a local taxi, as a single female traveller security is important to me and I'd prefer to pay for the good vehicle, and knowing that the driver was OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Bushmaniac,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next trip.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent one night at Eka Hotel before departing on Safari. The staff was wonderful and the hotel is clean (and very new!) with several amenities-gym, pool, restaurants, buffet breakfast, etc. We really enjoyed the close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Marthapp,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Got to stay here on a 12-hour stopover on my way home compliments of Kenya Airways. The best part about this hotel is that it is near the Airport and you avoid the traffic of the city, so its ideal if you're in Nairobi on a stopover between flights. The hotel is well-furnished and comfortable. However, the rooms are a tad small and shower / WC is too spartan. Cannot comment on value for money as this stay was gratis. Try to visit the Nairobi National Park if you're there for a day to see giraffes, wildebeests, gazelles etc. I even got to see a lion!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. No preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avinash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Avinash,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Hotel is located close to the Airport . The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are small but very comfortable.
The food at the Hotel is great though there is not too much of a choice
It has free internet which is great

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurtuzaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear MurtuzaRai,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After a long safari visit to Kenya, we stayed at EKA Hotel before returning to the United States. The room was superb with all the amenities well laied out. The rain shower was just the extra touch we needed to unwind. The hotel manager called our room just to ask how comfortable we were and if anything was lacking in their hospitality. You just do not see this kind of service in the US. The staff throughout the Hotel were incredibly helpful and courteous. Our flight was late at night and the Manager opened up a room for us just to freshen up before our long journey back to the US. These are the small things that people do not forget. We will always remember the quality of service and hospitality that we received at EKA Hotel. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Khataw,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed there with best imaginable comfort and courtesy. They go great length to make guests feel comfortable. Though I stayed only a night, I preserve memory of it. That tells their quality of hospitality.

Room Tip: I didn't stay enough to guide anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamiji_drupad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Swamji,

It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends/family again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ole Sereni
#16 of 164 in Nairobi
1,252 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
622 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing