We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Perfect Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Abbenes, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Safe and Perfect Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Perfect hotel with good rooms. Staff is super friendly. Food is good quality and plenty choice as well. The swimming pool is very cold - might be time of year....Free Wireless Internet. Security is very tight and therefor a safe place to stay. Gated car entrance with huge pole in ground that will not be lowered till the car is completely checked. Entrance another check of people and luggage...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-v-d-Zwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Hans,
Many thanks for your email and nice to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka hotel, We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope will give us another opportunity of service to you and friends In the near future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    260
    71
    23
    17
See reviews for
65
122
43
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had one night at the Eka Hotel which is close to the centre of Nairobi and not too far from the airport. Ideally situated for a one night stop before going on Safari. The hotel is modern, beautifully furnished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful although we did not receive a message that was left for us from our safari guide. Our superior standard room was to a good standard. We had tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and an amazing shower with fluffy towels and the bed linen was good quality although the bed was a little hard for us. The buffet breakfast was excellent and beautifully presented with lots of choice including an omelette/egg station.

The swimming pool area with sunbeds and umbrellas was again to a high standard - clean and welcoming - but the water was freezing!

We had an evening meal at the more informal restaurant in the hotel and the food was good and priced similar to prices here at home. Try a tusker - the local beer - very good!

I would recommend this hotel for its location, good standards throughout and despite being on the main road into Nairobi - quiet. To get free wifi you had to go into the lobby area and I did struggle at first but eventually managed to get it.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet with a nice view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyRabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights on a business trip to Nairobi although the hotel had good rooms and the food was ok I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Nairobi on business for two reasons. Firstly I had no Internet connection in my room for the first three days and two nights. After constantly complaining for three days I finally got a workable connection but it was too late as it was Friday night and the business week was over I suspect that was only because I started to insist on a room rate reduction as I had booked a room with wifi. A manager appeared and her words were you should have complained earlier. I had been complaining to guest relations since check in, they had even put a router (which did not work) in my room. This may seem like a minor gripe but I run an international business located in over 10 countries and was in Nairobi to set up our new company there. I need good communications. I had to sit in the coffee shop and use the super slow wifi connection there this resulted in me being always late. In the end i would go over to the Ole Sereni nearby have a coffee or a meal and use their free wifi which was quite fast. if I was the owner or General Manage of Eka Hotel i would be ashamed that my customers have to go to my competitor for a basic service. Te second problem with this hotel is the location. It can take up to 2 and a half hours to return from the city centre (happened to us on the first day). On the Thursday night we wanted to go out for dinner but the Mombasa road was gridlocked so we were essentially stranded as we could not travel by car so back to Ole Sereni next door for dinner and a good Internet connection. If you have business downtown be sure to leave the city by 3 pm to get back to the hotel in 30 minutes. When I returned after dinner on Friday I finally had a good wifi connection in the room. Anyway at least I have the last laugh as I need a minimum of 100 business room nights a year in Nairobi so at least I can now vote with my check book as they say. I did locate a better located hotel with super fast wifi at a rate 20% lower than Eka and none of the hidden extras Eka Hotel charges.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room and check the room wifi connection before paying the room charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff to be commended. The manager replies every time about the beds that are too hard but seems to be the same upon every return. Restaurants are a bit expensive with no alternatives nearby. Overall an enjoyable stay

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to the Maasai Mara. We were due to have a transfer by the hotel at 7.30am (all booked and paid for) the following morning to Wilson airport to catch our plane for our safari. At 6.30am we started asking at reception about the transfer and where we should meet our driver/ transfer. We were fobbed off as reception was so busy with check outs. They clearly did not have enough staff. We were told to return after breakfast which we duly did, checking out at the same time. This was at 7.15am- in plenty of time for our BOOKED transfer. We were told to take a seat and the the driver would be with us shortly. Every 5-10 minutes we checked with reception and he was always on his way. Eventually at 8am I had had enough- we were due to check in for our flight at 8.30am for a 9.15am flight and having experienced the traffic on arrival the previous day I was extremely anxious and getting increasingly angry at the lack of response / interest from the hotel reception staff. Finally I demanded a taxi immediately - at their expense to take us to the airport. We had a hell ride through the back streets of Nairobi and go to the airport at 8.55am -25 minutes after our designated check in time. By some fluke the plane was late departing so we were still able to board.

This hotel nearly destroyed a well planned and eagerly anticipated holiday. The reception staff are inefficient, there is no continuity in terms of service delivery and they actually couldn't care about their clients. We had asked to speak to a manager, but the manager was singularly unavailable. Really a poor show!

I would avoid staying here if you have a plane to catch. Even a booked and fully paid transfer through the hotel holds no water with them- blatant disregard for customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

..as there is a structural fault in the building. Sound proofing is good with respect to the external parts, but non existent with respect to doors! The doors themselves are pretty heavy and you hear them slamming continuously as if it was your own door which keeps slamming. Moreover, you hear everything people say. As a number of visitors come or leave at improbable hours, given the proximity of the airport, if you want to sleep, save yourself the almost 200 dollars and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel that is fairly close to the airport on the south side of the city. The design is modern and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The meals were all pretty good. Conference facilities were comfortable and reasonably priced, compared to other venues we looked at. Internet was free and fairly good. The hotel will also provide you with an ethernet cable to connect directly in your room, in addition to the WiFi.

A few things that could be improved though. The beds were extremely hard, so if you do not like hard beds this might not be the place for you. The hotel staff did bring me an extra comforter to try to pad my mattress a bit, which was nice although did not soften it enough for my tastes. The shower head is on the ceiling and aims straight down, which I prefer less than angles shower heads, although there was plenty of hot water. As other people have mentioned, the doors close really loudly, so if you happen to be on the same floor as a tour group that is leaving early in the morning you are going to be constantly awakened by the banging doors.

If I had to come back for a conference, I would, although I would want to make sure that they've diversified their mattress types a bit more. I probably would have given this hotel a 4 if it was not for the mattresses, which really affected my sleep quality.

Room Tip: Rooms 300 through 308 (even only) have a shared terrace with tables and chairs that overlook the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTraveler20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ETB, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing