We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, staff great, but you do not sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, staff great, but you do not sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

..as there is a structural fault in the building. Sound proofing is good with respect to the external parts, but non existent with respect to doors! The doors themselves are pretty heavy and you hear them slamming continuously as if it was your own door which keeps slamming. Moreover, you hear everything people say. As a number of visitors come or leave at improbable hours, given the proximity of the airport, if you want to sleep, save yourself the almost 200 dollars and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    263
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
69
125
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel that is fairly close to the airport on the south side of the city. The design is modern and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The meals were all pretty good. Conference facilities were comfortable and reasonably priced, compared to other venues we looked at. Internet was free and fairly good. The hotel will also provide you with an ethernet cable to connect directly in your room, in addition to the WiFi.

A few things that could be improved though. The beds were extremely hard, so if you do not like hard beds this might not be the place for you. The hotel staff did bring me an extra comforter to try to pad my mattress a bit, which was nice although did not soften it enough for my tastes. The shower head is on the ceiling and aims straight down, which I prefer less than angles shower heads, although there was plenty of hot water. As other people have mentioned, the doors close really loudly, so if you happen to be on the same floor as a tour group that is leaving early in the morning you are going to be constantly awakened by the banging doors.

If I had to come back for a conference, I would, although I would want to make sure that they've diversified their mattress types a bit more. I probably would have given this hotel a 4 if it was not for the mattresses, which really affected my sleep quality.

Room Tip: Rooms 300 through 308 (even only) have a shared terrace with tables and chairs that overlook the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTraveler20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are a business trip look elsewhere
Walls are paper think
Room doors are so poorly fitted that you can hear everything not to mention they bang loudly
Oh and if some locals start fighting in the hallway at 5 am don't call management they won't do anything about it- even after 3 calls.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPDMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good hotel for those who land in Nairobi and then start their safari. We were here with our Group of 19 members, and all the group members had a pleasant stay. Hotel has good ambiance, food, rooms. We had a stay for only one night at this hotel and then to Masai Mara National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel would have scored higher but the lack of sound proofing and black out curtains from the bedrooms is an issue.

Hotel staff are fantastic, food from the breakfast buffet was good, dinner buffet excellent and really good value.

Security is good and there is a great american diner attached to the hotel,

If only the rooms walls werent so paper thin.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed a total of 4 nights on 3 different legs of my recent safari at the Eka. The hotel itself is fine -- very close to the airport -- and not having to drive through downtown Nairobi traffic to get to the airport is a very good thing! The rooms I had were quiet and clean, but the mattress gives new meaning to the word 'firm.' 2 out of my 3 stays the elevator worked. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The buffet leaves much to be desired, though. At breakfast it's fine, but watch out for dinner. Tasteless is the best I can say for it. I never could eat anything other than from the soup and salad sections. The in-hotel restaurant called "Soaring Eagle Spur" was quite good. Had a burger there on my last evening and it was excellent!

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask for a room away from the street (there's a very busy street at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a good relaxing place in the chaos of Nairobi. Although the staff was a little bit inconsistent when providing information (sent to the bathroom when asking for the front desk, sent to the wrong room elevator, advised breakfast started at 7:00 when in fact it was available at 5:30), the few hours that we spent at Eka were nice. Even the hamburger place was terrific for a nice meal with my son. The only down point is that even though it is very close to the airport, traffic in Nairobi is crazy and the airport, now working from provisional tents after the fire, is very unorganized!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#42 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ETB, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing