We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Transit Hotel for Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Good Transit Hotel for Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good hotel for those who land in Nairobi and then start their safari. We were here with our Group of 19 members, and all the group members had a pleasant stay. Hotel has good ambiance, food, rooms. We had a stay for only one night at this hotel and then to Masai Mara National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    260
    71
    24
    17
See reviews for
66
123
43
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel would have scored higher but the lack of sound proofing and black out curtains from the bedrooms is an issue.

Hotel staff are fantastic, food from the breakfast buffet was good, dinner buffet excellent and really good value.

Security is good and there is a great american diner attached to the hotel,

If only the rooms walls werent so paper thin.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed a total of 4 nights on 3 different legs of my recent safari at the Eka. The hotel itself is fine -- very close to the airport -- and not having to drive through downtown Nairobi traffic to get to the airport is a very good thing! The rooms I had were quiet and clean, but the mattress gives new meaning to the word 'firm.' 2 out of my 3 stays the elevator worked. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The buffet leaves much to be desired, though. At breakfast it's fine, but watch out for dinner. Tasteless is the best I can say for it. I never could eat anything other than from the soup and salad sections. The in-hotel restaurant called "Soaring Eagle Spur" was quite good. Had a burger there on my last evening and it was excellent!

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask for a room away from the street (there's a very busy street at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a good relaxing place in the chaos of Nairobi. Although the staff was a little bit inconsistent when providing information (sent to the bathroom when asking for the front desk, sent to the wrong room elevator, advised breakfast started at 7:00 when in fact it was available at 5:30), the few hours that we spent at Eka were nice. Even the hamburger place was terrific for a nice meal with my son. The only down point is that even though it is very close to the airport, traffic in Nairobi is crazy and the airport, now working from provisional tents after the fire, is very unorganized!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was on a business trip and stayed at this beautiful hotel. Service was just great (especially room service). The staff - very polite and ready to help.
Conference facilities were also at a very high level. Thanks a lot for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotoklizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight as we were leaving for a safari the next day. This hotel is located around a 15 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta airport (assuming no traffic).

The room was sufficient with hard wood floors and was clean. The beds were a bit hard but acceptable. The internet connetion was very intermittent which was frustrating. The doors to the hallway are very thin and we were awakened at 7am by the cleaning staff who knocked on our door to see if we wanted our room cleaned. Granted, we could have put our 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but 7 am is too early for cleaning staff to be knocking on doors, especially at a transit hotel. We tried to fall back asleep but could hear the cleaning staff making up the room across the way, including rustling of garbage bags, sweeping, moving things around, etc. We didn't get a good sleep at this hotel.

Room service (fajitas) from the steakhouse was adequate and the breakfast buffet was good. Lattes were available at breakfast upon request.

We requested a taxi at the front desk to Wilson airport and were quoted a price was twice as high as it should have been (US$20 per person). Upon a bit of questioning of the staff (we paid 1600 schillings the night before from Jomo Kenyatta and knew that Wilson was closer), the rate quickly dropped by 50%. A member of the staff drove us to the airport. Overall, our stay here was sufficient but was not without problems. I would stay here again if necessary, but only for a brief overnight transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a one day trip to Nairobi and was booked into this hotel by a friend - coming into the reception area one immediately sees its classy. A modern amenity with friendly staff. Wi-fi was a much welcomed bonus as was the amount of coffee sachets in the room.

What was good is the proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the pool area is a definite must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosainnarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#33 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ETB, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing