We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveler rating
436
555
126
34
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
555
126
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport spur restaurant international airport mombasa road modern hotel jomo kenyatta an airport hotel overnight stay long flight wilson airport gift shop stayed one night buffet breakfast masai mara comfortable rooms business hotel short stay
Filter
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice modern hotel that is located close-by the Nairobi Airport. And, if you know Nairobi, you know how important that is. The rooms are modern and clean and have a fantastic rainfall shower. The bed is hard, but typical of every hotel I have ever stayed at in Kenya. The food is good, but not great. Recommend highly for Nairobi.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkr1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Kirk,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your stay with us and hope that you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel looks pretty nice from the outside. It's conveniently located for the international traveller being pretty close to the airport - although we only experienced one, we're told that Nairobi's traffic jams can be formidable.

Security check of our vehicle on the way in were thorough but swift. Our check-in was smooth; I wondered why Nairobi hotels all had metal detectors when no one seems to use them.
The decor is sort of minimalist-modern but definitely not unattractive. Rooms were clean and smartly appointed. Gave the hotel top marks for including broadband internet access with the cost of accommodation; I have never been able to figure out why hotels in this price range insist on annoying guests will silly charges for something which has become a very basic expectation.

Beds were comfortable. Toilet and shower design are such that it's best that these rooms are shared by people who are really into each other!

We chose to have dinner at the Spur Restuarant which is a good choice for meat-lovers like us. The huge black mark against the Spur Restuarant was their absolutely absurd attempt at deceit - I had requested a wine which was not too dry, the waiter brought me some vile saccharine concoction which was very obviously some fruit juice with a dramatically high sugar content.
I'm no wine connoisseur and it's clear that this person is accustomed to serving client's who're not wine-tasting experts but this was so fraudulent as to be shocking.
I insisted that they replace the fakery with something that resembled real wine.

Breakfast at the Galaxy Restaurant was very good in selection and preparation.

Checkout was efficient.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Deji,
Thank you for visiting Eka Hotel.

I see that you also shared some photos as you appreciated the ambiance and the services that we provided to you.

We apologize for the experience that you had at the spurs restaurant.

However, I am happy to know that the Galaxy Restaurant complemented your stay at Eka Hotel.

We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

As many of the readers do realize Nairobi is not a cheap city. It was really surprising to our family that hotels were asking for a price that you see in "big cities" in the US, Germany and France. Then I asked around and came across EKA hotel. This property is just next to 2 other airport hotels that asked for over $250 a night. Since we were returning back from Mombasa and needed the rooms for only 8 to 10 hours $250 a night was VERY expensive for us. We asked EKA and they were able to offer a day use room rate- which we are really greatful for.

Upon checking in staff was extremely courteous and obliging. They went out of the way to help our family. The hotel also has a wonderful restaurant and a swimming pool. The excercise room was a great surprise and helped us a lot. My wife and I ran for some time and that helped with overseas flights (meaning we got tired). f

One thing I would point out is NOT to get the hotel taxi. They try to charge $20 per person as transfer fees but you can easily get a taxi for less than $15 each way directly outside the airport.

Overall, we were very impressed with this property.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear World_Trvlr1021,
Its great to see your review on Eka hotel in spite of the brief stay. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

Please feel free to recommend our services to any of your colleagues and friends.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 7 needed a hotel near the airport. This was an excellent choice. Very nice rooms, lots of security which is needed in and around Nairobi and the food was excellent, not your usual hotel fare. Highly recommend this hotel. Ann and family from Washington D.C. June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theatrelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Theatrelady,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel Nairobi. We are glad that you valued us, as excellent and for appreciating our amenities and service.

We hope that you will visit us again and please do signup from our website for rate discounts if you are a regular frequent visitor.

We too loved your visit and stay. Do visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was disappointed with the EKA. Very modern hotel, but a hotel you could find in any large city. Food and rooms were average. Beds were very hard. Biggest issue I had was that we left our room locked and came back to find the door wide open--fortunately nothing was taken. The workout room and pool were very nice. We did feel very secure in Nairobi!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcs75093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sir
We appreciate your stay with us and are happy that you enjoyed our Gymnasium and pool.

In your future stay with us, should you have any issues or problems, kindly request that you speak with the supervisor who will assist in the best way possible.

Thank you for visiting and we welcome your stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews