We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveler rating
402
529
120
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
529
120
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportspur restaurantinternational airportmodern hotelmombasa roadjomo kenyattaan airport hotelovernight staylong flightwilson airportstayed one nightgift shopfelt safebuffet breakfastmasai maranice poolexcellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the beginning of a two week trip to Kenya, we found the Eka Hotel to be just what we were looking for upon our evening arrival at Kenyatta airport -- close to airport, modern facilities, easy to book, comfortable beds after a long journey, excellent breakfast. A great place to stop over coming or going from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Maureen,
Thank you for staying with us and for valuing the comfort and convenience that you experienced while visiting Eka Hotel Nairobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after 5 days on safari while waiting for the plane to Zanzibar.

On the positive side:
- the reception was kind enough to let us keep the room until the airport pick-up.This was something we did not expect and I loved that flexibility.

- the porter was by himself an A+++++. He wrapped up my newly bought wooden giraffe and gave me tips on how to polish it later on. He made sure to go above and beyond for our whole stay.

Unfortunately there are a few more negative points to mention.

- the waiters were not very service minded at all. One of them were smiling and service minded at lunch. However, we forgot to tip him at lunch and that smile was gone by dinner, perhaps because of the lack of tips. Needless to say, we didn't feel like tipping him anymore. We just ate our meals quickly and tried to be out of the restaurant as soon as possible.

- the rooms: don't be shy about toilet habits in this hotel. There is no bathroom door and only thing that separates you from the rest of the room is a glas shower door. This hotel was not designed for actual guests, but just designed to be I don't know, a weird sort of modern.

- the bed is a bit too firm for my liking, but this is not a huge problem.

-food: the buffet provides less choices than the lodges we stayed at earlier. The food was not impressive and a lot of it felt dry. They served some meatballs that i really liked, but that was it. In addition this was a really expensive dinner and not worth the sky hight price they charged us for it.

- breakfast was ok enough, but we had more options at the lodges and it was just a bit boring really.

We will make sure to stay at another hotel if we come back to Nairobi again.

the room was booked through a travel agent so I don't know how much they paid for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Eka Hotel.

We are pleased to know that we made your stay comfortable while waiting for your
airport pickup. In addition to that, thank you for appreciating the hospitality received from our concierge team(porter).

We are sorry for the negative points mentioned and we will strive to improve the quality of food and accommodation to satisfy your standards during your future stay.

We appreciate you reviews and thank you for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Service was excellent and staff was very friendly, rooms are spacious and beds were very good. We had 5 rooms and had both types of rooms, double beds and king size. Breakfast was excellent. Only partial downside is that Wifi doesn't work properly in the rooms sometimes.
Also, if you are traveling with young children, the bathroom can show you a bit more than required, so be warned.
Eka hotel is also quite a far away from downtown Nairobi which is both good and bad. Good in a way that it is more peaceful. However, traveling to downtown can be a pain. It can take anything between 30 and 90 minutes for this 7 kilometer trip because of the traffic.
It was also very close to the airport and that is a big help as you do not have to worry about getting stuck in traffic and missing your flight.
I'm glad to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nairobi. Very nice experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Designed to exact specs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshithPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Ashith Patel,
We thank you and value the feedback on Eka Hotel rooms and how you found the amenities specious.

About travelling with children we encourage guest to book Interconnecting rooms where children can enjoy their own separated rain showers away from the parents. While their parents will have their own room. Both rooms have interconnecting doors to each room.

While staying with us, it can help when you liases with our concierge team to advise you what hours are good to get ahead-start from the traffic as at times the highway can be busy making it slow to get to a destination.

Last, Eka hotel is close to the airport making it convenient enough not to miss any flight.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is nice if you want a modern hotel thats near the airport - which is exactly what we were looking for. The breakfast buffet was good too, in addition to the normal fruit and breads and stuff, they had a guy making fresh omelets. Its like a 10 min ride from the airport, which was perfect for us. They also give a lot of free water, and there is a mini fridge so you can keep your water cold. Rooms were pretty modern with 32" flat panel TVs, and free wi-fi reception in the rooms. It cost a little more than what I planned on spending (it was $190 a night) but I think thats because my travel agent had to get a cut as well, but realistically speaking after the free breakast and the money saved on taxi fares (since it was so close to the hotel) it really was not that expensive. But you can probably get a better rate if you book directly yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Rakesh
Thank you very much for staying with us.

We really appreciate you taking time to write a feedback and for complimenting the staff who work hard to make all the guests have a comfortable stay at Eka Hotel.

Our amenities have been made so that guests can be entertained and feel at home while staying with us.

Feel free to contact us whenever you want to make a booking and share with your friends the experience you got at Eka Hotel. Next time you want to come Just skype us at (ekahotel) and we will make arragements for your stay at Eka Hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Eka Hotel Nairobi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The relatively-new Eka Hotel sits far away from downtown Nairobi but it is, on the other hand, reasonably convenient to the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and that makes it a fine place for just-arriving or soon-to-leave travelers. Considering its cost, however, the Eka leaves something to be desired. Its rooms, for instance, are small; there are no closets or places to hang up one's clothes; the hotel apparently does not furnish wash clothes in the bathroom and the arrangement of that room makes it almost impossible to open the glassed-in shower or toilet room doors without ramming them into something or another. On the other hand, the wi-fi works seamlessly and the breakfast buffet is just superb, with excellent and quite ample food, thoughtful and caring waiters, and a very pleasant place to eat. That latter fact alone merits it an extra star from both my wife and myself.

The Eka Hotel is a welcome addition to Nairobi's lodging possibilities. We'd readily stay there again should we come to Nairobi. If decimal scoring were possible, I think that we'd rate the Eka about a 3.75. As it is, however, a 4 is in no way unfair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear BigP,
On behalf of Eka Hotel I would like to say thank you for visiting.
It was nice that you appreciated the location of the Hotel and while staying
with us.Thank you for also enjoying our cuisine that our Chef Works tirelessly to build and maintain.

Our rooms have been designed to meet various guests requirements.We have a variety of room sizes and most times the guest chooses what they like, or it is chosen by their travel agents. Other time, guests can be upgraded to meet their preference and comfort.

About our closets, we do have closets to hang one's clothes and within that we have an electronic safety that guests will find valuable to keep personal belongings.

It was nice having you around Eka Hotel and we appreciate your comments as we value your feed back and we intend to make our guest comfortable.

Thank you for coming and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews