We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel conveniently located near airport”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while transiting to another African country so was looking for a hotel that was close to airport but also of a high standard. Very impressed with the Eka Hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great dining options and the rooms have everything you need including free wifi and a good selection if English cable tv channels. Would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it for travellers who want the comforts and standards of a good quality western hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyB932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 903 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed this time in Eka Hotel in Nairobi is good to stay out of town near airport - away from traffic jam, I found this an average hotel. reasonably good for short stay, It is a new compact hotel. can be second good option on the Mombasa road. Breakfast variety is good

Room Tip: rooms in the mod of Corridor are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Eka hotel in April 2013 after Kenya Airways messed up our flight booking, which meant we had 14 hours to kill. If you are looking for a pillow and a bed, this is fine, but it certainly doesn't rate as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Although we booked through booking.com, the staff were unaware of our arrival. Apparently the emails go to the office, which is closed on weekends?? We did finally get a room, however.

Our room was reasonably spacious, with only a shower, no bath. There were coffee/ tea-making facilities, but only one cup. The duvet cover had some strange faded red marks on it, but as the sheets were clean and we were tired we decided to ignore it. There was one bathrobe in the cupboard, again it seems as if the room was set up for one person.

The next morning we found out only after breakfast that there is a surcharge for breakfast, Kenyan shillings 2500 per person. We were not informed of this before. There are other hotels near the airport that do provide breakfast and a free airport transfer. This hotel wanted $20 per person for an airport transfer, but if you can arrange with a taxi prior to staying at the hotel, you will pay less than $10 for 2 people. 10min drive to airport when weekend traffic.

This hotel is a bit of a rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupoftea_TIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

New Hotel close to the Airport. In case your business is around Industrial area and not in Nairobi city you would save time in traveling. It is sometime a nightmare to Travel to city centre. Most part of the day traffic jam is quite common. Hotel is quite new - hence the facilities are in good shape be at furniture in rooms , sofa sets in lobby etc. Buffet breakfast is excellent with wide choice. You may enjoy evening sitting on balcony on the first floor of the restaurant with your drink and grilled food including steaks. However choice of vegetarian dishes is limited.
Internet speed in rooms is not satisfactory but you can access in lobby area where a business room i room rates are on the higher side. In summary a good hotel to stay on business trip not requiring travel to city business centre..

Room Tip: Look for rooms opening towards national park and not towards Mombasa road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had an amazing time with my boyfriend during the Easter holiday and the reception was very welcoming. The cooks are amazing and i especially loved their buffet for the four days. The environment is serene and calm and also spot on. It is a nice environment to take the children and also a loved one. I thought the pool was small but its centrally located to suite all the guests. It had an amazing time and i would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furaha_Safire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotels in Kenya are expensive and Eka Hotel is not different. But this new hotel can offer you the confort, cleaness and amenities you want.
Close to the airport, which is important if you want to be away from the heavy traffic of Nairobi.
The bad thing that there is nothing to do around the hotel. Just the Spurr Tex-Mex style restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked a room at this very modern Hotel because it appeared the closest to the Airport and we would only use it for some nine hours between our flight from Malindi and then on to London.I was not dissapointed. Very good security, excellent luggage handling and quiet peacful rooms for a decent sleep made this hotel a good choice. The relaxed friendly and excellent food served at the bar area was an added bonus.Very clean and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ole Sereni
#21 of 169 in Nairobi
1,387 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,201 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
548 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $156 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing