We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classy with a touch of home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy with a touch of home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had an amazing time with my boyfriend during the Easter holiday and the reception was very welcoming. The cooks are amazing and i especially loved their buffet for the four days. The environment is serene and calm and also spot on. It is a nice environment to take the children and also a loved one. I thought the pool was small but its centrally located to suite all the guests. It had an amazing time and i would go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furaha_Safire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    325
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
93
170
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotels in Kenya are expensive and Eka Hotel is not different. But this new hotel can offer you the confort, cleaness and amenities you want.
Close to the airport, which is important if you want to be away from the heavy traffic of Nairobi.
The bad thing that there is nothing to do around the hotel. Just the Spurr Tex-Mex style restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked a room at this very modern Hotel because it appeared the closest to the Airport and we would only use it for some nine hours between our flight from Malindi and then on to London.I was not dissapointed. Very good security, excellent luggage handling and quiet peacful rooms for a decent sleep made this hotel a good choice. The relaxed friendly and excellent food served at the bar area was an added bonus.Very clean and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want to stay near the airport your first or last day in Nairobi, Eka is a very good choice. It's not cheap, but it's good standard. Our visit was short, so the review can't be very detailed, but we have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tordenmalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was not a resident of this hotel,but merely stopped by for breakfast on my way from Nairobi's Jomo Kenyatta International airport after landing with the early morning flight.It was recommened by my taxi driver after my enquiry of a suitable restaurant for breakfast.The hotel served an excellent buffet breakfast with very good variety.service was first class.The only negative was that the bar did not have my brand of cigerrates(dunhill) which is a common brand in Nairobi.The barman just shrugged off that "it was there but stock finished".It was sad that an excellent hotel with excellent hotel with clean and excellent ambiance could have a sloppy inventory top up policy.Otherwise the meal and service was excellent and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Was here and its just beautiful. the food is wow...the staff are wonderful and its near the road. This is a superior 4 star even if they just rate themselves 4*. Its near the airport trust me...its the best for your 1st night or last night in nairobi. You will not drive long to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a suite at once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Eka is more than half way between the airport and down town Nairobi. The location is good as a jumping off point to visit parks. The Nairobi traffic is terrible so if you can avoid going through the city during the week do so. We arrived on a Saturday night and then toured the Nairobi sites on Sunday which was perfect. The hotel is new so the rooms are very nice. The staff, especially the food cooks and the cleaning staff, were extremely friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi, just get the password at the front desk. There's a nice pool and very small landscaped area surrounded by a wall. The surrounding area has a lot of construction but there wasn't any noise. There is also a small workout room with three machines overlooking the pool. Excellent security. Not only are all vehicles inspected and signed in, there was a security officer patroling the faciltiy. The food was good, buffet style. We also ate in there restaurant with an American Indian Theme. The food was excellent. Hambergers, chicken and mexican was all very good. The only issue we had was with our room key, which seemed to deprogram easily and our request to get a hair dryer sent to the room. It took three requests for it to finally arrive. Since we were starting and ending our two week Kenya trip at he Eka, we were able to leave a bag at the hotel with our winter clothes. I'd reccomend staying here for it's location and newness. As a side note, if you're a birder and want to get an early start on your species list, you can bird right over the back wall which looks out over an empty lot and a small pond. We identified 25 different species of birds before breakfast!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing