We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel close to airport, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eka Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Eka Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to airport, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is hotel is less than ten minutes drive from the international airport, very modern, nicely furnished and clean though pricey but probably reasonable for Nairobi it seems! Free wifi with good connection, decent TV and channels, comfortable bed and shower and good room service (good beef served by Spur). They put me on the ground floor so views weren't that great. Very secure hotel which provides peace of mind to those concerned.

Room Tip: Airport shuttle is 20 USD, but book well in advance. Cheaper than getting taxi. Get a room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RikTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    260
    70
    23
    17
See reviews for
65
122
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to air port and relaxing hotel. Staff were very friendly and management were obviously pushing the customer service. However room service was extremely slow even just getting someone to fix our air con. There is a spurs steak house connected to hotel which was fine to eat at. No real complaints. Rooms were nice, bed was comfy, I stayed at the Hilton in the city when arriving and eka goral is an absolute palace compared to the Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann0nMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a refreshing change here in Nairobi to stay at a hotel as good as this one.
Just up the road two minutes from the Panari Hotel where I normally stay, this one is fantastic !
And only 15 minutes from the airport.
Clean tidy and fresh . (Well it is fairly new)
Bedrooms are excellent, very comfortable with all the extras tea, coffee ect. All rooms are on smoking, but you have a little balcony that you can step out on to. Which I prefer anyway.
The staff are great that I dealt with tonight, they are very polite and will have a laugh with you.
The food is excellent, alongside the hotel restaurant there is also a steak house for burgers and ribs ect. Which was cheap and very nice. Service was a little slow there but they were busy.
I will be requesting that the company books this hotel again, as I said far better than the Panari.
Well done Eka Hotel !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGAloadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

For a new hotel i was curious to see what they would bring to the market and i was not impressed. Beautiful interior and that's where it ends.Main restaurant at hotel entrance is lively in terms of decor and opens to a terrace with a good view.

Food served is buffet-no creativity. The chicken my sister had was bland.Definately not worth the price.Decided to give it a second try when they opened a spurs restaurant

At the spurs restaurant too many managers walking around,very slow service from waiters...painfully slow.Too slow and i repeat too many managers walking around. It wasnt a busy night, my food order took forever; the waitress disappeared on me.

Almost an hour later she shows up and explains the chef had issued a different order for me...seriously?The bill though came so fast!

Wouldn't eat there maybe just hang around for drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrembo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Brand new hotel, clean lines, pleasant cheerful staff, close to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and equal distance to Wilson Airport so ideal location- wise for travelers in transit or needing to connect to a flight into one of Kenya's reserves.
Pleasant pool area and comfortable room with very modern bathroom, flat screen TV, but the beds were incredibly hard and not at all comfortable.
Adjacent to the reception was the hotel bar and restaurant with buffet and a' la carté selections. It appeared popular and the menu was quite extensive but we opted for supper at the Spur which was situated in the building and had only been open for 2 days. We had a delightful supper both tasty and good value for money.
Typical impartial airport type hotel but the staff were charming and it was new, clean and convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The buffet is not worthy the price, too little too limited on choice, could be they are still new in the market though I would have expected their marketing team and chefs to do better. Other thing is they should try avoid/restrict hookers in their bar next to the restaurant or if they must have them change the design to put them where couples with family are not distracted. It was annoying seated with my wife and all you see around you are hookers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After a week at an unstarred lodge in Zambia, I was expecting a little bit of luxury on my way back to Europe via Nairobi. The airport pick-up went well (good value at $20) so a good start but then it was downhill pretty much from there on.
The rooms are elegant but chic, funky design has replaced commopn sense and there was a strong feel this had been designed by someone who doesn't do hotels much. The rooms are on the small side, with very, very little storage space (no drawers) in one very narrow wardrobe. The design of the window area in the room means that the curtains cannot completely close the gap and the sun is streaming in, extremely bright, from 6am.
The bright light was joined at 7.45 by continuous heavy banging on pipes that continued, non-stop, until 8.30, then became quieter and was still hammering away when I left the room at 9.30. People may well get up earlier in Nairobi, but after a week of early starts and US$216 for a room, I deserve peace and quiet until at least mid-morning if I choose.
The room doesn't have a bath and the bathroom and toilet open out onto the bedroom as one space. The toilet and cabin have glass doors (a glass door on a toilet, that's certainly novel) but it still feels like you are sleeping in a bathroom. The shower door fits tightly enough for there to be no room under it for the bath-mat outside, but not tightly enough for water not to seep out. Worse still, water leaks across the floor of the adjacent toilet making that unpleasant to use afterwards. Ho hum.
Downstairs, the bar has wif-fi, which refused to work with an iPhone, despite thge assistance of one of the two extremely friendly working girls who seemed to know more about the wifi connection than the staff.
Breakfast is extra (yup, $216 wasn't enough to give me a breakfast) - $15 to be precise, but it was pretty good, to be fair.
There is NO spa at the hotel, despite one of the other reviewers mentioning a massage, although there is a tiny, tiny gym perched above the tiny pool (no swimming after 6pm, even though there are no staff on attendance before 6pm so what's the difference??)
The hotel do not seem to like local taxis so unless you know the number of a local taxi driver, you are forced to use the hotel driver (or stand by the Mombasa Road at night to hail a passing taxi). He tried to charge me KES1,000 for a journey of 1.9km, which I point-blank refused. He relented and I paid a still-staggering KES800. The return journey in a local taxi (a decent car and friendly driver) cost just KES300.

The Eka is actually a decent hotel in a decent location, close to the airport but it needs proper management to sort out the petty problems. I am not fussy....I travel all over and stay much of the year in rural African hotels and lodges, but when you pay more than $200 you expect decent curtains, an absence of industrial hammering, working wifi. And breakfast. You also don't expect the mercenary attitude of the hotel driver. Other reviewers seem to be happy, and I suspect that I was unlucky, although many of the issues would be the same for anyone.

Room Tip: High numbered rooms are further from the road (about ..10 upwards) although I sensed that the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBrightBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 27695 - 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, ETB and TravelClick so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing