We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Kaydn215
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent just a night here as i needed to catch a flight the next morning. Close to the airport and a nice, comfortable, new hotel. I think the best quality hotel near the airport. Simple buffet meals are served with a pleasant area out near the pool. Good security and relatively quiet in the rooms given the nearness to Mombasa Road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaydn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    325
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
93
170
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Hotel was recommended as astopover in Nairobi by our Travel Company who had had good reviews and we needed an early start to the airport in the morning. The traffic in Nairobi is getting worse so this was excellent. I felt safe and secure - the staff were excellent and the food good value too. The room was lovely although my husband found the brand new bed a bit hard although I slept like a log.
You can't go wrong really

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkShorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stay for 4 nights during the beginning of October 2012. I must say that this hotel is new. Room has the basic, but I do find the bed a little bit hard, or maybe just different preference.

Had a-la-carte dinner in the hotel for al the 4 nights, though they do have buffet dinner, so I manage to try out quite a few of their dishes. Food is so-so to me, but the soup is good.

Service is not outstanding but acceptable. There are a lot of people checking in and out of this hotel. I think Eka has some kind of tie down with Kenya Airways. Many travellers with flight delay from Kenya Airways are staying in this hotel. So if you prefer a much quieter place, choose another place.

Security is good, I think. Sometimes when I woke up at 3am in the morning, I do see guards patrolling to the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east has a superb view during sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsherAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaHotel, ESales Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear valued customer,

First and foremost we thank you for choosing to stay at Eka and sharing your experience with us as we value the feedback from all our customers which will enable us to deliver even better service.

With your concerns raised, we wish to confirm that during the time of your stay at the hotel, we indeed had a sudden and unexpected influx of customers as a one off, however we have put measures into place that allows us to utilize more than one reception desk for larger groups to be check in and checked out.

We are very concerned to note that the food was not particular to your expectations, as usually receive comments of the very opposite, please let us know what specifically was not to your expectation to enhance and better our services.

We are looking forward to hearing from you, and hopefully be able to welcome you again at Eka Hotel Nairobi, and more so for a review.

Yours sincerely

Eka Hotel Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

New hotel which very good location for onwards travel.
Very helpful and attentive staff and good restaurant with potential for becoming great in a fututre.
Room designs has some hick-ups and still need to put up minibar and room service system as menu is missing. Can though be found in restaurant.
Beds are hard and unfortunatly of low quality which is dissapointing.
Limitation for pool and gym access to 1800 hrs unfortunatly if you are there on business.
Pool water is a quiet chilly african experience.
Food is above average with potential for more
All in all the friendliness of the staff making up the hotel from guards to managers make it a worthwhile experience on your way to your Kenyan experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the check-in desk side of the hotel has better wifi quality. Try to get as high a numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

New hotel with lovely, comfortable rooms. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Great location---easy access, near airport, and away from city's traffic congestion. After our departure, we had a concern that was promptly addressed by management in a thorough and professional manner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Brand new, beautiful, modern, spacious rooms, free wifi, but very uncomfortable beds (pillow top mattress over the bed should be put in place) - service was very average - I think saying anything beyond "average" is an over-statement - some of the communication was awkward between myself and the bar staff (asked for a menu, got a funny look while he checked his cell phone, and 5 minutes later got a menu - weird, right?) My husband was also very sick with a fever one night and I asked for some tylenol and I was told "I'm sorry the store is closed now" - these are things that clearly need to be addressed and I"m sure they will be in time - it is a new place full of new staff members so I'd be willing to bet things will improve dramatically.
The big red flag with this hotel (hotel management please take note) is credit card fraud. Someone in my group used one particular credit card at this hotel, and only this hotel, and there has been fraudulent activiity on their card twice now (2 purchases made in Mumbasa, Kenya over $1000 each time). Several of us in the group noticed you could see the entire credit card numbers printed on the merchant copies (the copy that stays with the hotel). This needs to be addressed by hotel management asap. Somehow they need the machines to not print the entire numbers on the merchant copy of the receipts, otherwise you're just inviting issues like this to come up. In the meantime I would suggest guests insist on blacking out those numbers on the receipts - physically take the receipt and just wipe out the numbers with a pen.
I would recommend this hotel - very nice for Nairobi.

Room Tip: if you really need to use the free Wifi in your room then don't get a room on the bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vegetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Eka Hotel is a new hotel - I don't think the "official" opening had taken place yet when I stayed there. It is a great business hotel, with good conference and meeting space for onsite meetings. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully designed. It is a world-class business hotel.

The best part of Eka Hotel, though, is the staff. Each person, from security to front desk, was always ready with a smile and a pleasant greeting. Most of them took the time to learn my name, and kept track of how things were going with my stay.

The location is convenient, midway between the airport and the city, but there is nothing nearby. It's the kind of place where you'll take taxis to meetings, touristing, eating, shopping, etc. But that was fine by me. I'd stay again, if I needed someplace in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrizaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#16 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
6.7 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing