We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“cosy hotel with very good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavington Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavington Hill House
Ranked #13 of 237 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy hotel with very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our family moved to Nairobi in August and while we were waiting for our container with our furniture and other stuff, we stayed at Lavington Hill House for almost two weeks. In these two weeks all staff members made us feel very welcome and they made our stay very pleasant. The cook, Alex, always made breakfast and dinner something to look forward to. We've very much enjoyed our stay and we can recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose Lavington Hill House for a short stop over in Nairobi on the way to South Africa in July 2014. All worked out perfectly, we were picked up from the airport as agreed (costs extra but is worth it as we arrived at night and you do not want to go about yourself at night).

The room was cosy, bathroom had hot water and we had a nice view into the garden int he morning from the terrace. Water in the bathroom was hot and as we experienced unlimited, some rooms are apartment style and very large, or with extra rooms for kids/additional travellers. The breakfast is really a feast, full English and also generous portion of fruits, pancakes, etc. and was (for us) included in the quoted room price. Free drinking water is also provided, the place also has wifi, though the signal might be in some rooms a bit weak.

Matthew and his father (the owners) and their team are very friendly and hospitable, they also organized a driver for us who showed us around for one day in Nairobi.

We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back.

Room Tip: Rooftop apartment is quite large and cosy, also there is a large room for family with 2 kids on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Owner at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi Evy

Thanks for taking the time to review us!

You were a pleasure to host during your stay. We were glad you were able to soak some of the Nairobi culture, sights and sounds from Lavington Hill House.

We aim to provide a warm comfortable stay and we are glad you had that experience.

Thanks

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Lavington HIll House was an outstanding accommodation experience! From the making of online reservations to our Welcome by the Owner and family the first evening of our 6 night stay. We reserved 3 rooms, and each room was clean and spacious! We were in Kenya on a missionary trip, and while our daily routines took us to some remote and out of touch places, it was a great comfort knowing where we were spending the night. Comfortable, clean and the food was amazing. Service was second to none. We will definitely be staying at the Lavington Hill House in our return visits, and also recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 707Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Owner at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Mrs Matthews

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words.

It was such a pleasure to host your family. The boys were uber cool and your husband had very fascinating stories to share.

I think you are doing amazing missionary work and impacting the lives of rural Maasai and other marginalised groups here in Kenya.

We would be happy to host you again and again.

Warm regards

Matthew on behalf of Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed in many guest houses and hotels, and Lavington Hill House is second to none. The grounds are well maintained, the house is very beautiful, as they have managed to retain its character through time. That means some might find the decor outdated, but everything is spotless and well kept, which is in line with the spirit of the place. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, everything you need is there, and if you were to need something extra, you can ask for it and will be be supplied in no time. Service wise, it is excellent. Staff are friendly, very professional and very well trained. Attention to detail is amazing. They would remember anything you order or asked for and add it to your next order by default. Room service was extremely quick. Breakfast is a la carte, you can order 20min before you go down they even call your room when it is served. I had a beautiful welcome bouquet of fresh flowers in my room on the first day, and room is tended to twice a day. It reminds me of what hotel service was like 20 or 30 years ago, and is a perfect example of kenyan hospitality. I wish Lavington Hill House all the best for the future and hope I will get a chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the first floor have nice little terraces where you can relax and even eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMBE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Owner at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear MM

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We enjoyed you staying with us as you prepared to settle in Kenya with your family. We hope everything is going well and you are enjoying your new posting.

We value our guests feedback and are always glad to know that they had a wonderful experience. Its our raison d'être.

Merci beaucoup

Matthew on behalf of Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff at Lavington Hill House really go out of their way to give you a very warm welcome in Nairobi -- it truly feels like you're being taken care of like family. I'm frequently in Nairobi for business and prefer staying in quieter Lavington than the center. A beautiful house, comfortable rooms, carefully prepared meals, and most of all, individual attention to guests and their needs. The staff have been kind enough to recommend great restaurants, print work documents when all copy stores were closed, and find the best deal on a local driver for us. It's the only place I'll stay in Nairobi!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljs170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavington H, Manager at Lavington Hill House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

It is always a pleasure to see you work through our front door when you are in Nairobi.

We appreciate your continued stay with us and how you are always open to explore our food menu and chef's specials for interesting dishes.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

LHH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I travel to Nairobi very often for work and I feel so privileged to stay in such a beautiful house where everybody makes me feel at home. This makes my recurrent trips to Kenya much much more enjoyable. Bedrooms are very spacious and tastefully furnished. I also enjoy their balconies where I can relax after a long day of work. Alternatively I like reading in the house's lush garden! Food is great too; From the earthy Ugali with their delicious meat sauce to the chef's succulent pancakes that I recently tried for breakfast! Knowing that I am going to get there gives me a lot of comfort when boarding the plane in Paris!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lavington Hill House is a wonderful place to stay in Nairobi. A beautiful home, with lovely large bedrooms and bathrooms in a quiet safe neighborhood. Owners and staff are so friendly and accomodating. A terrific alternative to hotels. More than a bed and breakfast, meals and drinks are available and the food is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bcm802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 237 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#10 of 237 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodmere Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavington Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavington Hill House

Property: Lavington Hill House
Address: Lavington Estate, Ole Nguruone Avenue | Off James Gichuru, Lavington, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavington Hill House features premier suites with private terraces offering breathtaking views of the landscape. Furnished with superior hardwoods, the suites combine antique pieces with modern facilities in a relaxing home setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Lavington Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing