We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nairobi Institution”

Trattoria Ristorante & Pizzeria
Ranked #92 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
202 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A Nairobi Institution”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Trattoria has been around for ever. Great central location. Good no nonsense italian food, and service is great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    122
    71
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extensive Italian menu”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I really like this restaurant and it has an extensive Italian menu, with a bit of African influence here and there. Pricing is reasonable and service good. Their red snapper dishes are typically excellent

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, good value”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I ate here at lunchtime and had a tomato salad followed by a pizza, with a cold beer (Tusker of course!). The service was attentive without being rushed. I was served a small complimentary bruschetta with very well seasoned tomato on the top and a bread basket containing three home made breadsticks which were very tasty. I asked if the pizza base could be made thinner and they complied. This did mean that the topping was a bit heavy and the middle a bit soggy but that was probably my fault and it was still very tasty. I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it if you are craving a change whilst in Nairobi.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manda_and_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian meal”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Dined at the Trattoria this past March and was most pleased with a wonderful meal, Osso Bucco, which was more than tasty. Wonderful seating overlooking the city on the extended deck and the evening air was fresh and nice.
I look forward to returning when I am back in Nairobi.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely average”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had heard from some of the hotel staff and our driver that this was an excellent place. However, we found the experience fairly underwhelming - the service was slow and the food was fairly average. They messed up my dawa as well :( (dawa, for the unitiated, is drink is a mix of vodka, lime juice, honey, and a little sparkling water - Kenya's cocktail).

An average place, altogether.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PermVayKayHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Ristorante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing