We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tour”

Karen Blixen Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center Full-Day Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 121 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Without seeing the movie "out of Africa" before hand wasn't really aware of the background but after the guided tour learnt how interesting the place was!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    492
    259
    52
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Visiting the museum was really interesting. If you've seen the movie 'Out of Africa', you'll probably enjoy visiting the house where Karen Blixen really lived. Karen is a very nice part of town and it's set away from busy streets.

The price was 1200 KES, which seemed a bit high to me, with the expectation of tipping our guide afterward. But, I will say, our guide, Joy, was lovely. She was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. I hadn't seen the movie in a while, but it was nice to hear about her real life and made me want to watch the movie again to compare what I actually saw. Photography wasn't allowed inside the house, but it was really great to see some of the real pieces that Karen owned. Highly recommended if you visit Nairobi.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpursell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In Nairobi for a day? Its enough!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Have a glimpse of Nairobi National park, and other great attractions either on a budget or not. During the weekends, Kenya wildlife Service buses take people at a very small fee from the CBD into the park and back. This takes approx four hours. Hop into a bus to Karen Hardy and you will be dropped at Karen Blixen Museum, currently undergoing a transformation. The giraffe centre is on the same road to Karen Blixen Museum.

All the areas are greatly informative and relaxing, for all lovers of nature and history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldformak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oasis at the edge of the city”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Blixen house gives a brief insight of how the famous farmer and author Karen Blixen spent her life in Nairobi in a very green environment named after her. The house gives you some feeling of the atmosphere at those days and the garden is an oasis of quietness.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamb0p0a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Karen Blixen Museum is a must see in Kenya”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I think one of the most beautiful places to visit in Nairobi is Karen Blixen Museum (actually it is in the city of Karen, named after her). I loved hearing Karen's story and how she interacted with the local people is beautiful. The house and its furniture, the lawn, her paintings of the local people, how she lived her life, how she supported the people medically and with education, her love life are all amazing. She also wrote some books and one of them was made into a movie "Out of Africa", I haven't seen it yet but I definitely will.

Driving to Karen is also nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BetaniaAddisAbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing