We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INTERESTING, BUT FORGETTABLE”

Karen Blixen Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center Full-Day Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 122 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the beautiful farmhouse where Karen Blixen, author of Out of Africa, lived between 1914 and 1931, until she left Kenya after a series of personal tragedies.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“INTERESTING, BUT FORGETTABLE”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

the historical and biographical information were interesting if you had seen the film. for those who did not who karen blixen was, it was much less so.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    493
    259
    52
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Out of Africa experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was great to put a place to a description in a book. It really is just the sense of place that you get - the details are not there (Karen Blixen sold off her furnishings when she left Kenya).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A very interesting house to visit could just imagine what it was like in the movie Out of Africa with Meryl Streep sitting on the porch of the house with her music on , so peaceful

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Locked up and ripped off (almost)”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Unless you are absolutely dying to see the house, I WOULD NOT recommend going there!

I recently brought some visitors to see it, even though they did not actually know who Karen Blixen was at the time. Because of the nice setting, we took a photo there and were then quickly informed by a staff member that we would have to pay for the price of a ticket into the museum itself if we wanted to take pictures outside.

Because we did not want to go into the museum building itself, we decided to leave at that point.

However, a very frustrating chain of events followed: We were first stopped by the askari at the gate, and 500ksh was demanded from each of us, simply because we had taken a picture on the grounds. We then deleted the picture, but the money was still demanded from us. Upon requesting to speak to the manager, 1200ksh (the price of the full ticket) was demanded from each of us, including our taxi driver, who had merely sat in the car park!

We refused to pay 6000ksh for one photo (which we had subsequently deleted!), and so the askari proceeded to close and padlock the gate to prevent us from leaving the compound, while the manager simply walked away!

We then went down to reception (which is at the back of the house - not in an obvious position at all!) and explained the situation to receptionist, who responded saying that THE ONLY OPTION would be to pay the 1200ksh...customer satisfaction clearly isn't a priority here!

We spoke to 5 different people in the 45 minutes to 1 hour that we were practically held captive - my visitors even wondered whether the police should be called!

We were eventually allowed to leave, but not before being subjected to a sermon from one final member of staff.

I have honestly never been treated like that in a place, where I am the guest!

Not only that, but what is the 1200ksh going towards? To think that not far from there, at the Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, you pay only 500ksh to pet the baby elephants that they have rescued and watch as they play around, and are fed by their very caring keepers. At least there you can see your money is going to a worthy cause!

You would be much better off spending your 1200ksh next door, at Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee House and having a delicious lunch (served by polite staff)!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank titch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Manager at Karen Blixen Museum, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
.The incident is highly regretted. The management has sent away the guards who exceeded their mandate . Karen Blixen Museum charges entry fees which go to maintenance of the facility, unfortunately the ticket office is not at the main gate,a visitor centre with ticket office is coming up soon. Currently the visitors are directed to the ticket location by signages and staff on the ground. However in a diverse environment and in some occasions a few visitors access facilities before obtaining a ticket and thereafter not willing to pay such scenarios end up not being pleasant .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

the house is very nice and has a huge garden where u can have a seat with your guide and get some peace of history about Karen Blixen.
inside the house itself is nothing special. the photos in prohibited inside the building.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebrahim-ElCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing