We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact History of Nairobi”

Nairobi National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #7 of 119 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Compact History of Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Small museum with limited displays - but what there is is thought provoking and fascinating. Lots of historical artwork but not much else for displays. There is a huge bird exhibition with seemingly every species of fowl in all of Africa. Not a several hours visit museum, but if you have time definitely visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlvidaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    375
    178
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
500 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nothing special, evolution section ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Prices for residents are acceptable, but I think prices for non residents are on the high end for what the museum has to offer (different entrance fees combinations are possible - including snake park or not including it). To be fair, I was only in the main building, did not visit the shop, the cafes, the snake park, the gardens... It took me two hours for it, mainly because I wanted to check thoroughly the section about evolution, which was the most interesting one and would like to see it again. Mammal section was ok, but rather simple, like it was made for school kids. There was also birds section - endless rows of birds, nothing too interesting for a person not fascinated by birds, nothing made me stop and see a detail. Upper floor had some modern art displays, history of Kenya display (mainly photographs and newspaper clips, some interesting colonial time items) The only interesting thing on the upper floor was the show Cycles of life - display of items associated with the different stages of life in Kenya. There are some wifi spots, so if you are lucky, you can be online for a short while, then it is lost till you come across the next spot. Toilets are at the entrance, not really great, no soap, the one at the first floor would not lock so it was not convenient to use it. Someone will offer to guide you for a tip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Guide is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Get a free guide at entrance. They are trained and able to tell you history of Kenya and many other educational material stuff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank victoria057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a renovation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Superb exhibits, makes you proud to be kenyan! Great bohemian atmosphere too! And a lovely cafe. The renovation has made the museum a must see for everyone in nbi! My friends and I actually went there voluntarily!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeLlamoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but not the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I admit I am biased because as an NYC native I grew up with some of the best museums in the world. While the displays and physical plant of this museum were beautiful - and a lot better maintained than many museums in the developing world - I came away pretty unimpressed. The museum is very family-friendly which was great, but the information was also geared to a lower level. Big collections of photographs and clothing items from Kenya's history, awesome-looking displays in a mammal exhibit, but still nothing that really made me stop and look. For Kenya's 50th anniversary of independence there were a couple of special exhibits that I liked a lot but that finishes at the end of the month.

As others have said here, the snake park was not exciting if you're over the age of 7. The glare from the sun meant it was really hard to see most of the snakes, though the fact that there were crocodiles was pretty cool. Then again when you're in Kenya I hope that this is not the only place you go to see animals!

Overall I would recommend the visit if you are traveling with young kids, but if you're short on time (or money, $1200ksh to get in to one or $1500ksh to do both the museum and the snake park) then it's missable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank freedman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing