We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! An Incredible Collection!”

Nairobi National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #7 of 122 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nairobi National Museum is the flagship brand for the National Museums of Kenya. Located on Museum Hill, the museum showcases Kenya's rich Heritage with four distinct themes representing Kenya's Culture, Nature, History and Contemporary Art.Other attractions within the compound include the Snake Park and Botanical Gardens as well as a State of the Art Auditorium that occasionally hosts concerts, film shows and other events.Dining and shopping facilities await you after your tour with us in our commercial wing. Enjoy your visit with us at the National Museum.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“WOW! An Incredible Collection!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had nooo idea the scale of the quality, quantity, and beauty of the museum. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute and wish we had more time to explore it all. I was enthralled by the evolution of man exhibit, as well as the colonial history. Woah... what a brutal past. Then, throw in the natural history aspects, with the many birds and animals, and you have a grand slam of a museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    379
    182
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Price”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband insisted on visiting the museum for the Cradle of Humanity exhibit, where you can see the skeleton of the Turkana Boy, and it was the only part really worth seeing. The rest of the museum feels more like a curio cabinet, and does not offer a lot of information about anything at all. The staff was also indifferent. It did however seem like they were re-doing parts of the museum, and we might have come at a bad time. But at 1200 KSh each, that was just too much for the little we could see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mariedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Museum worth a visit”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent a few hours at the museum. It was quite expensive to visit as a non- resident but worth the entry fee. We bought a combined ticket which included the rather sorry looking snake park. I wouldn't bother with the snake park if you do visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, but a little dated”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent a few hours at the National Museum and found most ot it very interesting, particularly some of the archaeological exhibits and the exhibit on the history of Kenya. Much of the museum had a dated feel and the exhibits could be maintained better.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankLJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sad new face”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having grown up with regular visits to the Museum as kids the much anticipated visit to the new renovated museum fell totally flat. It was hugely disappointing.
We recall being in utter awe of the displays and the sheer volume of items to see at we seldom managed to visit every hall in one visit as it took so long to get round each one. This time we were done with the entire visit in just under an hour, this included the reptile park, aquarium and the gardens.
The mammal hall was still fascinating, the bird collection looked a little worn and moth eaten with a number of specimens lying on the floor of the display cases or missing altogether. The insect collection has vanished leaving some very sad looking butterflies in one of the drawers. Beyond this there is little more on offer. The reptile park is appalling with tiny cages and filthy pathways. The aquariums were by far the worst part of the entire trip and should be closed down.
If one did not know better it would be fair to say it is a grand old lady who has seen better days, however a huge EU grant worth many millions has just been squandered on the renovation of the museum and of this there is very little sign at all.
The staff were lethargic and if they had the training and knowledge they kept it well hidden from us. One felt that they were affected by the air of general neglect that pervades the entire building.
Very disappointing indeed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerryoutram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing