We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied landscapes and many animals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$280*
and up
Nairobi National Park tour, David Sheldrick...
Ranked #3 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Varied landscapes and many animals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What we liked about this park is obviously its location - just 15 min drive from Nairobi - as well as its varied landscape. The ticket costs only 40 USD, so half price comparing with the other parks (Masai Mara, Samburu...). It's a good spot to spend a morning, watching the animals before taking your flight back home. Not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice for a One Day Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Nairobi game park is not the first choice for Safari's but if you have a limited amount of time in Kenya you will not be disappointed. It is on the outskirts of Nairobi which is unique in itself. We were able to take photos of giraffes with the skyline of Nairobi in the background. There are not many if any elephants in the park, but there are many giraffes, zebras, hippos and allegators. The wildlife is a little spread out in the park and so for younger children they may get bored as there may be a little time between spotting any animals. It was not as amazing as some of the bigger parks but we definitely enjoyed our time there and were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LPB627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to be the only person in the camp (not a usual occurrence I might add) so I got spoiled, but I am sure everyone gets the same treatment. Hubert and his team were wonderful and how often do you look out of your tent and see a giraffe staring back at you. It is hard to believe you are in the middle of Nairobi, Go to the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage while you are there - it is a very special place where you can foster an orphaned elephant or rhino. Definite must do while in Kenya.

Helpful?
Thank Janehkb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent wildlife so close to city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is just 10 kms or 45 mins from the city centre but I've seen so many animals up close to me. I was lucky enough to see 10 Lions including 2 cubs apart from many other animals like Zebras, Buffaloes, Giraffes, Rhinos, Monkeys, Ostrich and others. The animals are used to seeing human beings & are normally visible from roads.

I had to travel in a Corolla (taxi used in city) since their safari vans were already booked.

TIP: Please reserve their vehicle in advance by calling them a couple of days in advance or go through a travel agent. The best thing would be their safari vehicles.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For a short trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Convenient and easy. We actually saw lions, so if you cannot go to a park that is further away, it is a nice outing

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank esp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing